Analog Copression for electronic music

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
technicsman1

Analog Copression for electronic music

Post by technicsman1 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:02 am

I produce electronic music, mainly techno, and was wondering what is the best compression/compressor to use. I use only hardware, and love my stuff to sound raw/gritty.....cannot stand clean production. Basically after something that maintains the warmth from hardware, gives you decent "oomph" but doesn't polish things/clean them up. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I'm a complete novice when in comes to compression.

technicsman1

Re: Analog Copression for electronic music

Post by technicsman1 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:11 am

*compression

Stab Frenzy
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:46 am

A pair of Distressors with the British mod and stereo link would be a good choice. This should be in Sound Production by the way.

technicsman1

Post by technicsman1 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:05 am

Ahh, apologies! Cheers for moving the thread. Are there any cheaper options. Couldn't afford £2,800 just yet lol!

tekkentool
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Lasers (ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ ωส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้)
Band: none currently

Post by tekkentool » Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:49 pm

technicsman1 wrote:Ahh, apologies! Cheers for moving the thread. Are there any cheaper options. Couldn't afford £2,800 just yet lol!
Software ;)

I think for most purposes you'll actually be fine with a software compressor, then use other stuff to give you the gritty sound which is obviously important.

If you don't have a computer in your recording chain whatsoever go out and find something cheap and cheerful (like a 3630) until you know what qualities you really want out of a compressor.

Solderman
Supporting Member!