reduble an audio signal

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
Post Reply
dzcosimo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:25 pm

reduble an audio signal

Post by dzcosimo » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:47 am

Hi

I want to obtain a thing that I thought be quite simple... But I can't find a commercial component that does this!
I want to redouble my audio signal (I play both bass and synths, hence one of these type of audio signals).

For example I want to take my synth output signal and double it. One of the outputs passes from other effects, finally arriving to the mixer, and the other one goes straigth to the mixer (the effect i want to create is like listening two synths that play the same phrasing).

Can anyone help me in finding a commercial component (pedal?) that does this?

Thank you in advance
CosimoDS
Feel free to correct my English at all times, I'd be grateful!

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: reduble an audio signal

Post by pflosi » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:59 am

TS Y-cable :thumbright:

dzcosimo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:25 pm

Re: reduble an audio signal

Post by dzcosimo » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:24 pm

Thank you!

Does it work in any condition? I mean, It is a passive component, hence can I use it only before the amplifier or also after? And is the power of the signal halved or remains the same?

I couldn't find it, because I (foolishly) was sure that an active component was needed.
Feel free to correct my English at all times, I'd be grateful!

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5155
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: reduble an audio signal

Post by madtheory » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:44 pm

If the split is after the mic pre amp, the mic pre is the "active component" and the cable will not affect the sound in any way.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: reduble an audio signal

Post by pflosi » Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:14 am

For splitting, it should work fine anyways. You get a small drop in amplitude, but you won't notice that.

DO NOT use it for mixing signals together!

User avatar
Cumulus
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1834
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:48 pm
Band: Cumulus

Re: reduble an audio signal

Post by Cumulus » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:18 am

Some pedals have a dry output as well. That might work for you as well.

User avatar
Solderman
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: reduble an audio signal

Post by Solderman » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:02 pm

If your instrument is at line-level, why would you not just use an effects send configuration on your mixer for this? The Aux return acts as the second signal.
I am no longer in pursuit of vintage synths. The generally absurd inflation from demand versus practical use and maintenance costs is no longer viable. The internet has suffocated and vanquished yet another wonderful hobby. Too bad.
--Solderman no more.

Post Reply