Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundcard

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
Post Reply
User avatar
glassofwater
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:06 am

Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundcard

Post by glassofwater » Mon Jul 07, 2014 3:45 pm

hey.

how do people deal with the sound delay of USB soundcards? Ie. I've set my usb soundcard up so that I can run the sound of synths in my DAW out of the soundcard (as a send channel in my DAW) -> into an external effect -> back into the DAW again. obviously this brings some sound delay into the picture, which is pretty bad with some effects. how do people deal with this?

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5772
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundca

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:04 pm

Some DAWs have support for delay compensation when looping audio out and back in. I know Ableton Live does, and I believe Cubase 7 has it, too.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
glassofwater
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:06 am

Re: Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundca

Post by glassofwater » Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:12 pm

I'll look into that! I'm using Ableton myself, so.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5772
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundca

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:03 pm

Look at the External Audio plugin in Live.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundca

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:32 am

Do the tutorials that come with Live, one part of it works out the latency amount of your soundcard so you can have that value saved in your settings. Once that's set up right latency isn't an issue any more.

User avatar
glassofwater
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:06 am

Re: Delay when running stuff out, and in again, on a soundca

Post by glassofwater » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:48 pm

Cool! Thanks for the help. Gonna check that out. :)

Post Reply