How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Live

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
Post Reply
powerhibiki
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:07 am

How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Live

Post by powerhibiki » Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:18 pm

I recently purchased the Novation Bass Station II and love everything about it. I use Ableton Live 9 as my DAW. I now want to learn how to record audio from my Bass Station II into Ableton Live. I have no audio interface/soundcard or MIDI in/out cables. I have the USB cable that came with the Bass Station II. I connect it to my computer and I can record MIDI from the Synth into Ableton. But I cannot hear anything I record. Is there something I need to do in preferences? Or is it simply impossible to record audio from the Synth into ableton with a USB cable alone? I am very new to the world of synthesizers/MIDI instruments, so all this business of recording and connectivity is very confusing for me. If anyone could let me know what's up I would appreciate it. Thank you.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by pflosi » Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:40 pm

Hey there

The manual states:
Novation wrote:The USB connection can supply power to the synth, transfer MIDI data to/from a MIDI sequencer application and allow Patches to be saved to memory.
So no audio via USB. You can use the mic input of your computer, or buy an audio interface... And for both you need the appropriate cables of course. :thumbright:

Cheers!

powerhibiki
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:07 am

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by powerhibiki » Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:44 pm

if i want to use the mic input of my computer, what cable would i need? (what cable to use between the bass station II and the mic input i mean)

Thank you for the help

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:14 am

powerhibiki wrote:if i want to use the mic input of my computer, what cable would i need? (what cable to use between the bass station II and the mic input i mean)
One that has a connector on one end that fits the audio output of the BS2 and a connector on the other end that fits the mic input on your computer.

c-level
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:57 am
Real name: Mike
Gear: Juno106, JX10, JX8P, JX3P, MKS50, SY22, SH201, Micromoog, CP 251, Korg Legacy, Triton Rack, Ableton 9, APC40, Max/MSP, Focusrite Pro40, Jazz Bass.
Band: C-Level
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by c-level » Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:42 pm

Stab Frenzy wrote:
powerhibiki wrote:if i want to use the mic input of my computer, what cable would i need? (what cable to use between the bass station II and the mic input i mean)
One that has a connector on one end that fits the audio output of the BS2 and a connector on the other end that fits the mic input on your computer.
d**k move! especially for a moderator...

in all likeliness you will need a 1/4in to 1/8in cable, hopefully just tip/sleeve, but trs should do to. look for a line input on your soundcard, it should sound a little better with a line level instrument such as a synth...

groy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:04 pm
Location: New York

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by groy » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:06 pm

Maybe reading through some of the articles on tweakheadz.com will help get your self oriented.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:48 am

c-level wrote:
Stab Frenzy wrote:
powerhibiki wrote:if i want to use the mic input of my computer, what cable would i need? (what cable to use between the bass station II and the mic input i mean)
One that has a connector on one end that fits the audio output of the BS2 and a connector on the other end that fits the mic input on your computer.
d**k move! especially for a moderator...

in all likeliness you will need a 1/4in to 1/8in cable, hopefully just tip/sleeve, but trs should do to. look for a line input on your soundcard, it should sound a little better with a line level instrument such as a synth...
Teach a man to fish...

User avatar
Swayze
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 1:49 am
Gear: Mono/Poly, Pro-One, JX3P, AX80, SQ80, AN1x, DX100, DX7E!, DX7IIFDE!, TG77, EX8000, Microbrute, Behringer D, Drumtraks, TR-08 and Eurorack
Location: Carson City, NV

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by Swayze » Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:12 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:Teach a man to fish...
:idea: Amen to that.

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by tallowwaters » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:27 pm

c-level wrote:
Stab Frenzy wrote:
powerhibiki wrote:if i want to use the mic input of my computer, what cable would i need? (what cable to use between the bass station II and the mic input i mean)
One that has a connector on one end that fits the audio output of the BS2 and a connector on the other end that fits the mic input on your computer.
d**k move! especially for a moderator...

in all likeliness you will need a 1/4in to 1/8in cable, hopefully just tip/sleeve, but trs should do to. look for a line input on your soundcard, it should sound a little better with a line level instrument such as a synth...
A moderator is here to moderate (such as removing comments about d**k moves), not answer questions that could be found out by reading the manual that came with the synth. Stop confusing moderators with customer service reps.
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by phesago » Sun Sep 28, 2014 7:20 pm

If you ask me, it's a bit nicer than being told to READ THE f**k MANUAL


but hey, thats just me.


AND it seems like he may or may not know how to set up both a midi track and an audio track in ableton. Can you actually use the mic input from the computer to go into ableton? Not that i have ever needed to just curious now :/


Also, how does dude nto have an interface? WOuldnt you need an interface even if youre 100% ITB?

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by ninja6485 » Sun Sep 28, 2014 9:01 pm

phesago wrote:Also, how does dude nto have an interface? Wouldnt you need an interface even if youre 100% ITB?
I think you could get away without having one... Maybe daw, softare instruments/downloaded samples,then monitored via headphone jack from pc speakers or laptop?
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Solderman
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: How to record audio from Bass Station II into Ableton Li

Post by Solderman » Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:47 pm

powerhibiki wrote:I am very new to the world of synthesizers/MIDI instruments, so all this business of recording and connectivity is very confusing for me.
In Ableton's Audio tab under Preferences, whatever is listed as the available Input(s), use that. If none exist, you need an audio interface with an audio input.(which quite possibly could operate under USB, but independently)
tallowwaters wrote:A moderator is here to moderate (such as removing comments about d**k moves), not answer questions that could be found out by reading the manual that came with the synth.
I interpreted the op as saying he was dumbfounded by the manual and is therefore hopeless. That said, if all you ever recorded was direct-to-disk with your DAW, then perhaps there exists a whole generation of aspiring artists that may not know what a line-level input is for.

What is more disturbing is as little traffic as the VSE forum has been getting lately, there seems to be more and more people signing up just to ask questions like these, possibly migrating from the softsynth world and don't have the same experience many of us started with, but I still side with Stabby. Don't engage them, let them figure it out like we all did.
When he comes back to ask about what effects to use, or how to use that Mic-level input for re-amping or what synth to buy to go with that BassStation 2, then by all means contribute.
I am no longer in pursuit of vintage synths. The generally absurd inflation from demand versus practical use and maintenance costs is no longer viable. The internet has suffocated and vanquished yet another wonderful hobby. Too bad.
--Solderman no more.

Post Reply