Garage band + old Korg

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

Garage band + old Korg

Postby lapuppet » Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:58 am

I want to hook up a keyboard to my Garage band,
I have an old Korg 707 (25 yrs. old)
I get the adaptor for USB-midi but it doesn't seem to work.
Any one have any suggestions?
lapuppet
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:54 am

Re: Garage band + old Korg

Postby JayEm » Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:51 pm

just a quick question, but what is the audio plugged in to?
a lot of people mistake midi control for audio recording.
w00t
User avatar
JayEm
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:41 am
Location: London, ON
Real name: Jonathan
Gear: KorgPoly800 Monotron MonotronDuo MonotronDelay Monotribe VolcaBass MS20Mini MS2000 MFB522 Arturia Minibrute Yamaha CS-15D Tama TechstarTS305
Band: datapark / KNUCKLEFACE / JayEm

Re: Garage band + old Korg

Postby Abstractfixer » Mon Apr 25, 2016 12:50 pm

how would you say that it is a mistake???
Abstractfixer
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 12:23 pm

Re: Garage band + old Korg

Postby ninja6485 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 3:30 pm

Audio signals do not travel through midi cables. Only the information of which key is pressed down, how hard the key is pressed, for how long, etc. Travels through your midi cable. If you want to hear sounds, you need to connect something to the synth's audio outputs either a speaker, some headphones to the headphone jack, or audio cables going into some recording device (or your audio interface).
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...
User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2761
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Location: Exton/ westchester
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers

Re: Garage band + old Korg

Postby madtheory » Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:01 pm

Those USB cables have confusing labels for IN and OUT. First, try swopping the MIDI cables around... Also, is the USB interface appearing as a MIDI source when you make a new keyboard track?
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 5098
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Cabaret Voltaire, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, thermostat, Buck Owens Moog.
Band: Minim


Return to Sound Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests