Optimum sample rate for SoundCloud

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
nme
Gear: Korg Monotrons: Original, Delay and Duo.

Korg Volcas: Beats and Keys.

Roland Juno-60
Band: n.m.e

Optimum sample rate for SoundCloud

Post by nme » Mon Mar 16, 2015 4:41 pm

I've been putting stuff on SoundCloud for a few years by now and I'm really frustrated with how crappy it sounds. I know that streaming audio is the best way to make it sound like garbage, but when I listen to other people's sounds it doesn't seem as bad. Is there an optimum render setting to make my tracks sound a bit better? Or am I just noticing it more in my tracks because I really know how it should sound? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

meatballfulton
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Optimum sample rate for SoundCloud

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:32 pm

Have you read this yet?

The actual steam is 128k MP3. This reduces resolution of course, but for optimum quality you should upload in a lossless format, 44.1/16.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

sigment
Gear: MACHINEDRUM, SH-101, MINILOGUE, STREICHFETT, MPC1000, BSII, MINIAK, MS2000R, VOLCA-B, GEKKAN, XE-8, RX-21 + TOYS
Band: SLAVESTAR

Post by sigment » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:55 pm

meatballfulton wrote:Have you read this yet?

The actual steam is 128k MP3. This reduces resolution of course, but for optimum quality you should upload in a lossless format, 44.1/16.

Good info, also note that if you enable downloading, they get a copy of the originally uploaded file (or so it seems if I am interpreting the third entry on the link above) so I would take care to prep the file for distribution...

What would be the best format for lossless / high quality lossy for distribution taking file size into account? In the past, Ive always uploaded 320mp3 :oops:

meatballfulton
Gear: Logic Pro X