Novation Bass Station 2 and Ableton.

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

Novation Bass Station 2 and Ableton.

Postby knowtorious » Sat Mar 21, 2015 5:29 am

Hello,

I bought a Novation Bass-station 2 and I am trying to get it set up into Ableton Live 9. It is best for me to say first I am a complete beginner on the hardware side of things, and am still a novice with the software, if I need to purchase more hardware I can and will in order to get this working.

The problem;
I am able to play A (1) sound from my synth through Ableton, and every time I change my synth all the melodies do too. It seems I am currently unable to make use of all the patches I can with my synth. My question is this, how can I load multiple patches from my synth into Ableton so I can have multiple sounds playing and edit each sound individually? I tried creating a melody and then exporting the sound and re importing into a fresh project but it either didn't save the sound (audio file) or was still linked to my synth (MIDI file).

Thanks.
knowtorious

Re: Novation Bass Station 2 and Ableton.

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:52 am

You need to record the synth to an audio track. Do the lessons that come with Live, it explains it in great detail.
Stab Frenzy

Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Postby meatballfulton » Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:53 pm

To make sure a clip replays with the proper patch you need to insert the program number in the clip. Since the BSII has only one patch bank, this is easy.

To change bank/patch on the Bass Station from Live:

- On a MIDI channel set MIDI To to 'Bass Station'.

- Create a MIDI clip on the MIDI channel.

- Click on the clip to edit it.