Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby iphoenix » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:54 am

I thought it was 32 mb , but maybe that was just the rack, ... I dont know these machines, so if you'll forgive my ignorance..& in any case thats good for me to be aware of that.
User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Location: Ireland
Real name: Paul

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby Rasputin » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:03 pm

16MB whether rack or keyboard.

There are 4 slots (2 standard + 2 expansion slots) and each slot can hold a non-parity 30-pin single-sided** SIMM module of 4MB maximum, so 4 x 4MB = 16MB.

** double-sided SIMMs can be used, but only if they are the slim kind (TSOP style)

The newer revision boards can have either 2MB (standard), 4MB, 8MB, or 16MB. The older revision boards can be 2MB (standard), 4MB, 8MB, 10MB, or 16MB. The reason the old revision boards can be 10MB is because they can mix 1MB and 4MB capacity SIMM modules whereas the newer revision must be either all 1MB SIMMs or 4MB SIMMs. However, the newer revision can use both the older "1-megabit x 8 chips" SIMMs and the newer "4-megabit x 2 chips" SIMMS while the older revision is restricted to the older "1-megabit x 8 chip" SIMMs only.

In other words, the older boards can keep the original 2MB (two 1MB chips) and then add two 4MB chips to boost it to 10MB. The newer boards can keep the original 2MB chips only if they're going to 4MB total, otherwise the original 2MB has to be abandoned and then go to either 8MB or 16MB. Either way, both mainboard revisions must lose the stock 2MB to be maxed out at 16MB as either have to be in 4MB x 4 configuration.

If the ASR does not have a jumper by the memory that says "SIMM size 1MB/4MB" then it's the older revision and care must be taken to get only the older style 8-chips-on-a-single-SIMM memory.

8 chips per SIMM style required for the older revision ASR-10 boards (also works for newer ASR-10 revisions):

Image
Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby Ashe37 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:46 pm

<- glad he doesn't have to regularly track this kind of memory compatibility stuff on PCs anymore
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3610
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby iphoenix » Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:30 pm

Interesting, thanks for the ram memory details Rasputin.

I wish that applied to the EPS16 plus too as thats the one Im getting for now. Im getting it for €275 =$336 , which seems like a fairly good deal for this part of the world. May take a week or three to get it, but the transaction is agreed.

Thanks for the advice guys
User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Location: Ireland
Real name: Paul

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby Hyde » Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:15 pm

EPS16 is a great machine. ASR adds much needed memory, the luxury of stereo sampling & a much larger bank of effects. I prefer the feel of the EPS16. I'd be completely happy with it if it had even 8mb capacity. If you are controlling other sound sources via MIDI, 4mb may be more than enough. It all depends on your end game.
Makin' Noises
User avatar
Hyde
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:45 pm
Gear: Ensoniq Mirage-EPS-EPS16-ASR10
Ensoniq SQ1-SQ1+
Akai S2000
E-MU ESI2000

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby iphoenix » Sat May 05, 2018 4:55 am

Thanks Hyde, Id love an ASR10 but its double the price of the EPS16 + . It seems too little gain for £350 extra (for my pocket) even though I would prefer the stereo ins & instant live processing through the DP fx. In this case the memory is the same on both the machines Ive been considering (2mb)
User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Location: Ireland
Real name: Paul

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby Ashe37 » Sat May 05, 2018 4:58 am

the ASR can be expanded beyond 2 mb using old SIMMS, and has more polyphony.
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3610
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

Postby iphoenix » Mon May 07, 2018 4:01 am

Just to be clear, Its not "too little gain " (re: the ASR10 over the EPS16+) for me at all, just my pocket.. at the moment.
User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Location: Ireland
Real name: Paul

Previous

Return to Synth Shootouts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests