Page 2 of 2

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:54 am
by iphoenix
I thought it was 32 mb , but maybe that was just the rack, ... I dont know these machines, so if you'll forgive my ignorance..& in any case thats good for me to be aware of that.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:03 pm
by Rasputin
16MB whether rack or keyboard.

There are 4 slots (2 standard + 2 expansion slots) and each slot can hold a non-parity 30-pin single-sided** SIMM module of 4MB maximum, so 4 x 4MB = 16MB.

** double-sided SIMMs can be used, but only if they are the slim kind (TSOP style)

The newer revision boards can have either 2MB (standard), 4MB, 8MB, or 16MB. The older revision boards can be 2MB (standard), 4MB, 8MB, 10MB, or 16MB. The reason the old revision boards can be 10MB is because they can mix 1MB and 4MB capacity SIMM modules whereas the newer revision must be either all 1MB SIMMs or 4MB SIMMs. However, the newer revision can use both the older "1-megabit x 8 chips" SIMMs and the newer "4-megabit x 2 chips" SIMMS while the older revision is restricted to the older "1-megabit x 8 chip" SIMMs only.

In other words, the older boards can keep the original 2MB (two 1MB chips) and then add two 4MB chips to boost it to 10MB. The newer boards can keep the original 2MB chips only if they're going to 4MB total, otherwise the original 2MB has to be abandoned and then go to either 8MB or 16MB. Either way, both mainboard revisions must lose the stock 2MB to be maxed out at 16MB as either have to be in 4MB x 4 configuration.

If the ASR does not have a jumper by the memory that says "SIMM size 1MB/4MB" then it's the older revision and care must be taken to get only the older style 8-chips-on-a-single-SIMM memory.

8 chips per SIMM style required for the older revision ASR-10 boards (also works for newer ASR-10 revisions):

Image

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:46 pm
by Ashe37
<- glad he doesn't have to regularly track this kind of memory compatibility stuff on PCs anymore

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:30 pm
by iphoenix
Interesting, thanks for the ram memory details Rasputin.

I wish that applied to the EPS16 plus too as thats the one Im getting for now. Im getting it for €275 =$336 , which seems like a fairly good deal for this part of the world. May take a week or three to get it, but the transaction is agreed.

Thanks for the advice guys

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:15 pm
by Hyde
EPS16 is a great machine. ASR adds much needed memory, the luxury of stereo sampling & a much larger bank of effects. I prefer the feel of the EPS16. I'd be completely happy with it if it had even 8mb capacity. If you are controlling other sound sources via MIDI, 4mb may be more than enough. It all depends on your end game.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 4:55 am
by iphoenix
Thanks Hyde, Id love an ASR10 but its double the price of the EPS16 + . It seems too little gain for £350 extra (for my pocket) even though I would prefer the stereo ins & instant live processing through the DP fx. In this case the memory is the same on both the machines Ive been considering (2mb)

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 4:58 am
by Ashe37
the ASR can be expanded beyond 2 mb using old SIMMS, and has more polyphony.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2018 4:01 am
by iphoenix
Just to be clear, Its not "too little gain " (re: the ASR10 over the EPS16+) for me at all, just my pocket.. at the moment.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:36 am
by Hyde
Did you buy one?

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:08 am
by iphoenix
Yes,

I got the EPS6 plus.

loving it, but not the storage side, but that was the way with these early 90s machines. Floppies or SCSI.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:15 am
by Hyde
Yeah, I was sampling into the EPS16 the other day. Having to sample, edit all of the fat off, sample again and repeat. Eventually I had to finish the job in the ASR, then dump back into the EPS where I needed to use it. It can get frustrating that such a powerful machine has such limited memory, even when memory is expanded. Still, can't help but love it.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:35 am
by iphoenix
Memory , agreed,
Eg: Another thing that bothers me is the fact that the sequencer always runs out of memory just as Im getting started!
The dreaded "no room for operation" on screen.
I filled the sample memory space with just 5 samples, spent hours doing so, got a nice 'kit' of atmospheric samples I just worked on & then no room at the inn for sequencer!

I like using the sequencer & samples Ive just sampled, to build a track, I just wish it had more memory for the sequencer

ah well, I still like it very much.

Re: Ensoniq ASR10 (keyb)no SCSI or EPS16+ rack with SCSI

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:38 pm
by Hyde
I've not had that issue. I guess I haven't sequenced extensively with the EPS16. I usually sequence form the ASR. You could pick up an SQ1. They are pretty low cost. Very similar sequencing. You could use SQ1 as your controller. It has some really nice sounds, as well. Then you could sample out as much as possible on the 16 & not worry too much about memory. When you fill that you can sys-ex your info to disk on the ESP16 The SQ1 has some nice drum kits, as well. I would sometimes stack the drum kits for a huge drum sound. Really a great machine for a low cost synth