Differences between Alesis Ion and Micron?

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.
stropko

Differences between Alesis Ion and Micron?

Post by stropko » Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:36 am

Besides the size, of course. How easy is the Micron to program/edit vs. the Ion? I'm a bit new at using synthesizers in general...do you think there is much of a difference? I would like it to be fairly easy to program and edit, despite the fact that I imagine I'll only be doing pretty basic things with it...I'm using it for old 70's songs, as well as writing new stuff...but no crazy techno. Thanks!

-Stropko

redchapterjubilee

Re: Differences between Alesis Ion and Micron?

Post by redchapterjubilee » Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:53 pm

The Micron isn't that hard to program if you are use to alpha wheel editing. The Ion is mostly knob per function and you have a graphic display for what you are editing (real handy with the envelopes). These days you can be a used Ion for the same price as a new Micron. If you can handle the extra size in your studio and you don't really want sequencing and beats and such (just a straight virtual analog) then go for the Ion. I've owned both and enjoyed the Ion much more. Of course, I'm selling my Ion now so go figure.
http://facebook.com/greatunwashedluminaries
ANALOG SYNTHESIZERS + EFFECTS + COMPUTERS

stropko

Post by stropko » Thu Feb 12, 2009 4:16 pm

Thanks a lot! Should I assume this is yours then?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Alesis-Ion-virtual- ... 1|294%3A50

I'd totally buy it if I had the money now, but I'm just getting my planning done in advance--I've still got to earn the money :p.

-Stropko

masstronaut

Post by masstronaut » Thu Feb 12, 2009 4:59 pm

Blimey, the price of Microns has gone up in the UK, and not by a little either!