Microkorg vs Microbrute vs Mininova...HELP!

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.
stark1

Microkorg vs Microbrute vs Mininova...HELP!

Post by stark1 » Sat May 31, 2014 10:55 am

Hello to everyone! I finally decided to buy my first synthesizer, and after lots of searches (and headaches) I came up with these 3 little buddies. I had a little pratice in the past with soft synths, but I don't feel comfortable with them,so i decided to go with hardware synths. In you opinion, what is the best of the 3 to produce ambient/downtempo soundscapes and sounds, considering a budget of 400$, and also that I'm a beginner with hardware synths? Thanks a lot! :D

ranzee
Gear: http://www.ranzs.com/gear-list/
Band: ranzee ranz

Re: Microkorg vs Microbrute vs Mininova...HELP!

Post by ranzee » Sat May 31, 2014 11:15 am

Well, I own both the MicroKorg and the MicroBrute - and I can tell you that they are completely different bits of kit. The MicroBrute is an analogue monophonic synth from Arturia. The MicroKorg is a digital (analogue modelling) synth with 4 voice polyphony.

The MicroBrute is amazing - it is really worth every cent. Arturia have made a very nice synth here. The step sequencer is great, the control voltage matrix is awesome, the filter is amazing - just a beautiful synth - and very original. I've used it in many recordings so far. There isn't any patch memory - which is the purpose of this synth - you fiddle with knobs and craft your sound - take a photo or use the supplied template (cardboard cutouts).