MS-20 Mini vs Waldorf Pulse 2

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.

MS-20 Mini vs Waldorf Pulse 2

Postby SInvictus » Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:18 am

I've been researching analog synths and believe I have narrowed down my choices to the MS-20 Mini and the Waldorf Pulse 2. Whatever I purchase will be my only synth for a long time, so I need one that will fulfill all my synth needs. I'm mostly into post-punk/goth music, and while I'm not necessarily going to be using it for this type of music, it will be more in this direction rather than contemporary dance music. I'm fairly new to synths, but I've been running through the Syntorial learning software so I have some idea about how synths function and how their various features interact, and I've been playing with the digital MS-20 from Korg's Legacy Series. I certainly still have a lot to learn, though. The pros and cons, as much as I can figure, are as follows:

The MS-20 Mini has a classic synth look, sound, and feel. It's age and popularity will likely provide for lots of 3rd party documentation, support, and ideas. The knob-based interface seems superior for tinkering around with, although the Pulse 2's interface is said to be very intuitive, so they both might work well in this regard. The built-in keyboard means that I won't have to purchase a MIDI keyboard, which is one more expense on top of the already pricier Pulse 2. However, unlike the Pulse 2, it lacks polyphony/paraphony and lacks the ability to save patches. Also, the Pulse 2 has an arpeggiator, an extra oscillator, and although I don't know this, seems to be able to produce a wider range of sounds.

For the last few reasons, I've been leaning towards the Pulse 2. However, I am a bit nervous about the digital interface, as I once had a Microkorg and struggled with its interface and wound up getting rid of it. Although I was drawn to these two synths, I'm certainly open to other suggestions as well.