Kurzweil K2000 VPR vs Ensoniq ASR10

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.

Kurzweil K2000 VPR vs Ensoniq ASR10

Postby iphoenix » Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:39 pm

Im interested in both of these , mainly for their synthesis/ sound capabilities , but can only afford one at present.

Both are around the same price for me at current prices.

I have no experience with either or indeed any Kurzweil or Ensoniq instruments, but have always wanted to get into the deep sound design & programming abilities of many models of both.

Ive decided that I would like to get one of them & I have been reading reviews of them for years so Im aware of their basic specs which I understand are very variable in their different OSs /revisions

The ASR10 seems less appealing to me right now because as far as Im aware its totally dependent on loading a floppy disc nearly every time you want to do anything programming-wise while the Kurz K2000 comes with internal ROM.

The ASR10 appeals for many reasons not least being the DP2/4 series effects chips & the ability to run signals through the fx.

The Kurzweil synthesis capabilities seems to be huge (vast) , but Im also very interested in the ASR10 as a Transwave synth.

They both look a bit tedious from a programming point of view ,especially the Kurzweil, but I am experienced with programming deep hardware digital synths via their limited parameter access,so that should not be too much of a deterrant.

The fact that the Kurzweil seems to be able to load Roland samples & many other ( 90s)formats is also appealing.

I will probably go for either in rack format , though there seems to be more K2000 s in keyboard format.

Right now its either a fully expanded (RAM) ASR10 rack with SCSI or a Kurzweil VP with 32MB RAM , both come to around the same price as I said, with shipping.

I would be interested to hear some users of both models,; your points of view on which you would prefer & why etc, Thanks