Newbie looking for a synth

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Robpm9995

Newbie looking for a synth

Post by Robpm9995 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:58 am

I'm looking to buy a synth, however I am new to this. I am experienced with music though, so I don't want the cheapest toy I can find.

I'm looking to spend under $1000. I'm looking for something to suit the amazing synths of the 80s, but I'm trying to sta9y away from actual vintage synths due to reliability (I intend on playing it live). I'm a huge fan of Prince and the huge Oberheim sounds on the Purple Rain album, however I don't really have Oberheim money (I especially like the sounds from the DSI OB6).

I only require a few things. The synth must have that 80s sound, especially the really big, lush sounds, as well as some lead sounds. Also, it must be able to store presets since I plan on plaging it live. I don't discriminate between keyboards and racks, either will do.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

Ashe37
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Re: Newbie looking for a synth

Post by Ashe37 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:20 am

Deepmind 6 or 12?

Also, a lot of the deep, luch pads are... the delays and reverbs you use on top of the synth.

CfNorENa
Gear: SEM | SH-2 | Prophet 5 | MKS-70 | Microwave XTk | Kronos || AD 202 | El Capistan | DP/4 | Eclipse | Rumour | PCM90

Post by CfNorENa » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:11 am