Oberheim Matrix 6

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.

Oberheim Matrix 6

Postby DjPsychic » Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:42 am

Hi there, first time posting here! Here's my question: would you buy an Oberheim Matrix 6 for $500 USD if you had the opportunity?

A)One key is non-functioning

B) Quote from seller: "Some voice issues once in a while but all six voices work. On two patches oscillator cuts out unless you calibrate it."

I'm pretty new to the "deep" world of synth so not sure how detrimental the "voice" issues are or how easily they can be fixed.

I'm leaning towards yes only because of the rarity. But would love to know what YOU think. THanks!
DjPsychic

Re: Oberheim Matrix 6

Postby Jabberwalky » Fri Jan 05, 2018 4:27 pm

Failing voice chip. Pretty common issue with the Matrix 6. You could calibrate it for a while, but eventually it will die completely. Luckily replacements exist. $500 seems about right.

http://www.maad.net/ms6/
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer

Gear: Eps16 | An1x | Minikorg700s | Monologue | Maxikorg | Bs2 | Ultranova | Dw8k | Poly61 | Paia9700s | Circuit | PreenFM2
Band: VARIAR

Postby DjPsychic » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:17 pm

Jabberwalky wrote:Failing voice chip. Pretty common issue with the Matrix 6. You could calibrate it for a while, but eventually it will die completely. Luckily replacements exist. $500 seems about right.

http://www.maad.net/ms6/

Thanks for your response. Good to know repairs aren't crazy serious. I guess I'm more asking if you or other synth peoples out there think this is a "don't miss" opportunity.
DjPsychic

Postby micahjonhughes » Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:54 pm