Yamaha PSS-460

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Cam VanDerHorst
Gear: Roland JV-80, Reason 4, Moog Little Phatty Stage II, KORG DS-10

Yamaha PSS-460

Post by Cam VanDerHorst » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:23 pm

Hello everyone, I'm a 19 year-old college student and a huge fan of New Wave & synthpop music. I'm saving up to purchase a MicroKorg, but while I was out today, I saw a Yamaha PSS-460 at a pawn shop for $48. Assuming it's in good working order, is it worth the cash or should I keep saving up for the Korg?
Last edited by Cam VanDerHorst on Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

ronP
Gear: BEHRINGER Xenyx 802; CASIO MT-70; KORG EA-1 mkII, MicroKorg, microSTATION, MicroX, Mini-KP, Monotron; ROLAND Micro Cube; ZOOM FS01, MRS-4B, MRT-3B
Band: Keyfish

Post by ronP » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:04 pm

The microKORG is a great synth to program and to play. That stated, man, run out and buy that Yamaha.

I started out on a CASIOtone, and it is more fun and more rewarding to work your way up the ladder in gear world. Get a feel for the keys, first, play the board through an amp (or a stereo if you don't have access to an amp), and try different effects (pick up a cheap BOSS or BEHRINGER chorus, flange, phaser pedal).

Play, and think about SOUND, and what kind of SOUND -- tone color -- you like as you play the keys. When you know, then buy something bigger and "better" . . . You might be a string guy, or an organ freak, or a monosynth maniac . . . Once you know where you're gravitating toward in terms of SOUND, then find the piece of top tier synthesizer gear that fits that SOUND.

Meanwhile, go out and spend that 48 bucks (if it is in good working order), and stimulate that economy!

:)

BEHRINGER Xenyx 802; CASIO Casiotone MT-70; KORG Electribe EA-1mkII, microKORG, mini-KP; QUIKLOK T20 T-REX Series X;
ROLAND Micro-CUBE; YAMAHA PSS130, PSS140; ZOOM FS-01, MRS-4B, MRT-3B