Going virtual

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Scotteralus

Going virtual

Post by Scotteralus » Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:10 am

Hiya -

I am now facing a lot less space than I'm used to. I'm also only used to actual synths - and mostly analog at that. So, I'm being forced to enter the 21st century and need a v-synth and controller. Since the extent of my MIDI experience/knowledge has been using one synth as a master with another as a slave to layer sounds, I'm looking for guidance. What will I NEED and what should I USE? Assume you're talking to a total novice (a very good assumption) with a budget of around $600-$700, but might be able to go $1,000 if the reasoning is COMPLETELY SOUND.

My computer uses Windows XP, has 1.0GB of memory and a 200GB hard drive (I don't really know what that means - I read it off the face of the base! See, isn't that oh so very sad?!)

I've always been partial to Rolands, if that means anything. And as far as a controller, ideally 49 keys is about as much space as I can muster. Thank you in advance to anyone and everyone who takes the time to read this pathetic cry for help and reach out.

Sincerely,

Scott (aka "wants to play like Emerson but can barely "do" Vangelis!")
Yamaha DS55; Juno-106; JX 3P; Alpha Juno-1

Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member

Re: Going virtual

Post by Yoozer » Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:55 am

How much of your rack gear can you sell and buy back as rack units?
Scotteralus wrote: What will I NEED and what should I USE?