Affordable Taurus substitute?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Taurusmoo

Affordable Taurus substitute?

Post by Taurusmoo » Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:33 pm

Hi synth gurus!

I've been playing bass as my main instrument for more than 30 years now - yes, the stringed variety :shock:

I've been fooling around to and fro on synths too and know my way around basic subtractive synthesis and whatnot, but am clueless as to market development and brand specifics.

For the last few years I've been playing in a seventies style prog rock band - Yes, Genesis, etc.

As a prog rock bass player the genre demands Moog Taurus pedals, or at least a good sounding substitute. So far I've been using Roland PK-5 floor keys with a Roland SH-32 synth module for faking Taurus (the SH-32 fits nicelly on my custommade, hardcased pedalboard - very handy and no need for extra rackspace or keyboard hardcases).

Latelly however I've become less than happy with the SH-32. It's a breeze to edit/program, it's portable and it's fun enough to play around with in the home studio as a cheap VA sound generator, but it really lacks ooomph as a Taurus emulator - I want to make hearts tear loose from ribcages when I step on those pedals and be able to get a SOLID bottom! :evil:

A Moog Little Phatty would probably fit my Taurus needs like a glove, but here in Sweden it will sadly take too big a chunk out of my music funds.

At the moment I'm looking at a few budget alternatives:
- Waldorf Blofeld: Looks great on paper and dirt cheap, but right now there ain't any Blofelds to try out in my local music stores
- Waldorf Pulse, used: one-trick analog pony, but might be a pretty descent Taurus faker. Once again, no unit around to try out myself

Used Nord gear usually go for pretty low prices here, but I don't think that's what I'm looking for.