Questions on first synth, research done but still have Q's

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Racerhead

Questions on first synth, research done but still have Q's

Post by Racerhead » Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:33 am

Hello everyone,

I am a rank beginner and I am having problems with a few Q's that all my research hasn't been able to answer. If anyone could please read my rundown below and possibly help me not make a huge mistake on my first purchase I would be very grateful. Here goes:

Equipment owned: Really old electric guitar equipment from when I was a teen, Series A electric guitar, Boss HM-2 distortion pedal, flange pedal, and an amp that was really old when I got it back then, a B10 guitar amp. I'm not sure if I can use this with a synth?

I haven't touched any musical equipment for about 19 years now, and I've been doing research for about a month. I have learned an amazing amount of info but unfortunately the last questions I can't find answers for even with all the guides and forums I have read.

Music I am looking to create: Industrial, Darkwave, EBM, whatever categories it's all been sorted into. When I got into this style of music I was listening to Skinny Puppy, Front 242, FLA, etc. and it was just called Industrial. Now? There is quite a bit of fighting on some forums about what any of it is! Yikes..

New: I am pretty much looking at new, as the only way I could even afford a synth is to collect gift certificates/cash for Christmas as I am on a fixed income due to chronic illness. I have $650 Can. To spend, plus about $300 (I can go a bit higher if need be) on top of that from saving a bit. I did go into a couple of music stores but not knowing anything all I could do was press random buttons and make noise. The salespeople at these places are ok but you know how it goes. I asked one if the Juno-D would be good to make industrial music on and he said “yep”.