oberheim, maybe voyetra ??

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
donniedarko56

oberheim, maybe voyetra ??

Post by donniedarko56 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 9:43 pm

Hello !

I'm a 19 years old guitarist and I'm looking to buy my first synth. I'm working all summer to get enough money to buy this synth and I'd like to do electronic/ambient like Ulrich Schnauss (for those who don't know this amazing artist Which synth would suit me best ? Money is not really a matter since I'll be making a lot of money by working my a*s off all summer :D ! (I know he primarily used Oberheim OBX8 and Voyetra...)

Thank you for helping me !

=)

Solderman
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!

Re: oberheim, maybe voyetra ??

Post by Solderman » Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:56 am

Don't forget he also uses a Prophet VS! It's quite a beautiful sounding instrument in its own right.
The Octave Voyetras are very hard to find, and I'm told, don't have very good service records. They apparently do sound amazing, and are quite versatile for analog polyphonics though. The Voyetra is used quite alot on New Order's mid 80's albums.
The Oberheim OB-8's are the easiest to come by. Its predecessor, the OBXa, shares a very similar architecture, and they both sound very similar. The OB-8 has a few more features, and has software envelopes, which are not as fast as the OBXa's.

If you really must have analog polyphonic, the Oberheim is not a bad choice, but there are some modern analogs which will do alot more. The most prevalent of these currently are the DSI Prophet 8 and Alesis Andromeda. You may also consider some of the virtual analog options, such as the Access Virus TI, Korg Radias/MicroKorg, Yamaha AN1X, Novation Supernova or Roland JP-8000.