Choosing my first synth on a budget.

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.

Choosing my first synth on a budget.

Postby eMh » Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:25 pm

Hi. Ive been making electronic music for about three years now and I've come to a need of a hardware synth. I mainly focus on Industrial/Noise/Breakbeat. Ive got a link to my Myspace profile in my signature.
Since i am an underage student with no job atm, im on a fairly strict budget-about 500$
I have got a midi keyboard, so it can be a sound module/rack unit. I am quite heavily into programming and exploring new sounds, so the presets on the machine dont really matter.
Having explored quite alot on this site, I've made a list of possible synths:
Alesis Ion
Alesis Micron
Korg MS2000(r)
Korg microKORG(Only if i got it really cheap, as i have quite large fingers :D )
Yamaha AN1X
Novation A-Station
Novation KS (r)

Im hoping for some opinions and/or more possible options from more experienced users, the pros and cons of those synths and general advice.
I also excuse for my bad english. :roll:
eMh

Gear: Edirol PCR-M50+pc
Korg MS2000
Polivoks
Alesis HR-16
Band: experiMENTALhospital

Re: Choosing my first synth on a budget.

Postby Ashe37 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:22 am

The Novation synths you're listed are going to be a little... smooth for the kind of music you're working with. The MS2000r and microkorg both have limited polyphony. PRogramming the micron is a bit involved, but it has decent p[polyphony and is multitimbral. One thing i notice is missing from your list is an Access Virus A or B... A models regularly go for under $400 while Bs are runnign right around the 500 mark.
Ashe37

Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Postby edfunction » Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:53 am

re: novation synths.