What synthesizer?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
the_noodlemeister
Gear: Digidesign 002 rack, JP8000, jx3p, novation ks rack, protools le8, predator

What synthesizer?

Post by the_noodlemeister » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:13 pm

hi. I'm looking to make music as a new hobby using synthesizers. I've been meaning to do this for some time but have now pulled my finger out. However, i'm a complete newbie and don't know where or how to start. I would like to make trance / dance / ambient music and therefore am looking for a synth (or synths)to do this (novation ks, Access Virus or Supernova i've heard are good). I'm also looking to buy secondhand as i haven't got a huge budget, but want to be able to record / store my music. Also, what is the difference between a synth with keyboard and a rack (ie what else do i need with a rack)? And do i need a computer with both, or either, of these? Which is preferable? I'm not necessarily looking for the easiest method as i like experimenting - more the better sound. Any advice will be massively appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member

Re: What synthesizer?

Post by Hugo76 » Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:06 am

You may want to go for some software first if you want to be able to do complete productions. There are many great packages, such as Propellerheads Reason, Ableton Live, etc. If you do want to get a hardware synth, I suggest you go for a workstation of some sort, maybe a second hand Korg Triton, Yamaha Motif, Roland Fantom...

CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8

Post by CS_TBL » Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:23 am

A rack synth is an instrument without keys. Rack synths are controlled with another keyboard via MIDI and/or with a sequencer via MIDI. Why do people buy rack synths?
- they're typically cheaper than their keyboard versions