School me on Sequencers

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

School me on Sequencers

Post by factorplayer » Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:34 pm

I need to find a way to play some sequenced parts like in the Rush songs New World Man and Vital Signs... Far as I can tell there isn't a way to get my SH-32 or MS2000B to do this, so I think I need an external hardware sequencer... could anyone shed some light on this? Thanks.

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by Z » Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:34 am

Don't know too much about the SH-32, but the MS2000 has a built in sequencer that you should be able to program the repetitive synths patterns of those two song. Consult you manual.

factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by factorplayer » Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:46 am

I looked into that on the MS2000 awhile back but it doesn't appear to be a regular sequencer per se, it's some kind of 'mod sequence' effect which is cool, but not what I need. For the life of me I couldn't see how to program note values into it. Plus the manual repeatedly references connecting an external sequencer so unfortunately I don't think the MS2000 has one proper. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong....

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by skweeegor » Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:36 am

You are wrong. ;)

The default value for the first of three programmable sequences is Pitch.

I haven't figured out an easy way to do rests though - best I could manage was setting the 2nd sequence to "Amp Level" and setting that to -63 for a rest. This means the amp level has to be set at 63 for this to work.

factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by factorplayer » Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:11 am

I let this go but need to come back to it now and get it figured out.

suffice it to say the MS2000's 'sequencer' is woefully inadequate for my needs so I am looking at an external unit.

Can anyone recommend a straightforward, easy-to-use step sequencer for what I'm trying to do? Thanks.

User avatar
RD9
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:24 am
Location: NY/NJ

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by RD9 » Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:17 am

There are some synths that have simple sequencers built-in. But it depends on how many steps and patterns you need to store. You might need a dedicated one. For example the Radias has a step sequencer that you can control via the keyboard. But it's limited to 64 steps (2x32 or 1x64). You also cannot sequence an entire song.

If you just want to cut to the chase and get a more capable sequencer, look into the Yamaha RS7000 or Korg EMX-1/ESX-1.

monolith
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1172
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:37 am

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by monolith » Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:30 am

If you're wanting to sequence monophonic lines, how about the Korg Electribe EA-1?

User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ
Location: Costa Rica

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by balma » Mon Jun 21, 2010 6:53 pm

Electribes can sequence only monophonic tracks (this for all the models)
They aren't able to transmit note ending.
Only 2 tracks have pitch scales. Other ones, only transmit one note.

Best sequencer for low price, is the Emu command station, any of the versions, PK7, MP7 or XL7. They are simple superb sequencers, no other machine offers you so much sequencing features for that price
His sex dungeons are rumored to hold hundreds of people in secret locations around the world.
https://soundcloud.com/balma

Tryptamine
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:45 pm
Gear: Rhodes Chroma, Alesis Andromeda, Dot Com modular, X0XB0X, MC-505, Korg Poly-800, Casio CT-1000P, Arp Axxe, Sequentix P3

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by Tryptamine » Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:46 pm

I use ableton live for all my sequencing needs. All you would need is a MIDI interface to connect your computer to the MS2000

schmidtc
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 591
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Virginia / Paris

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by schmidtc » Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:41 pm

An Alesis MMT-8 could sequence songs just like Rush for cheaper than anything else.

User avatar
shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:13 am
Real name: Dave
Gear: Whips chains waxes oils dildos DMT TNT the LHC, and a black rubber duckie
Band: moneymoneymoney
Location: VanNuys, CA USA
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by shaft9000 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:41 pm

factorplayer wrote:
suffice it to say the MS2000's 'sequencer' is woefully inadequate for my needs
:?

those lines are a piece o' cake, man:

- for NWM you're sequencing four notes, each repeated once after themselves. program a squarewave osc thru resonant LPF, then setup your pitches on the 16-steps to repeat after 8th step, latch it and you should be good to go.
pay careful attention to EGs and how they affect note length and the filter response

- for VS it's similar except it's 8 discrete notes, and the osc is being PWM'ed at a division of two per beat

don't give up so soon
you can do extraordinary things w/ the ms2000 sequencer that synths 5x the price can't
figure it out and everything sequencer-related will open up for you in the future
2600.solus.modcan a.eurorack.cs60.JP8.Juno6.A6.sunsyn.volcakeys.jd990.tb303.x0xb0x.revolution.
999.m1am1.RY30.svc350.memotron

shaft9000.muffwiggler.com <- singles & mixtape
shaft9000.bandcamp.com <- spacemusic album
youtube.com/shaft9000 <- various synth demos and studies

JRock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:48 am

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by JRock » Sat Jun 26, 2010 3:54 am

I got an MMT-8 but there is no step sequencer.
What I really Love and can be had CHEAP is a Kawai Q-80.
The EX has even more tracks and note holding capability.
You can record Live, Step and just make little patterns and cut and paste if that's what you want.
I got mine for $30 shipped and it's the bargain of the year.
The disk drives don't work on most of them but you can save the sequences to your computer (or tape? not sure)
If you want more options get an MPC. I Just got one and I LOVE it. The sampling is cool but the sequencing is AWESOME.
My computer isn't powerful enough to run music programs and I am not that familiar with ITB recording
so I love me some hardware sequencer!
If you have the dough get a MPC2500/1000/500 or whatever. Get JJOS too.
If not go for the Q-80, It just may be a little more difficult to find.
Probably the Roland MC500 or 300 would work too. I just never used them.

factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by factorplayer » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:36 pm

thanks for the suggestions guys, I think I am looking at a roland mc-303 for right now... it has its own tone generator which is cool since for some songs I need to still be able to play the MS2000 or sh-32 at the same time as the sequence... just need to make sure I can trigger it with a footswitch of some sort since my hands are usually full.

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by space6oy » Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:06 pm

don't bother, most annoying piece of s**t roland ever made.

factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Re: School me on Sequencers

Post by factorplayer » Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:28 pm

how about an Akai xr20?

Post Reply