Suggestions for all-in-one outboard effects unit?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Elandroth
Gear: Nord Lead 2X, DSI MEK PE, Roland D-50/Juno-60/TR-707, Ensoniq ESQ-1, Casio CZ-5000, Elektron MD UW+

Suggestions for all-in-one outboard effects unit?

Post by Elandroth » Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:50 pm

I'm looking for a unit that can provide reverb and delay mostly, but other effects on top of that would be great. I've been playing with a Nord Lead 2x for a few years now, but recently have really ramped up my synth focus. What started as an extra source of catchy melodies on my guitar stuff, has turned now into my main musical interest. So now I'm pretty happy with my synth layout for the time being, but I find myself lacking in effects. Guitar pedals ain't workin out so hot, and I really don't like software effects - mostly because I prefer doing everything on hardware whenever possible.

I'm looking at the Lexicon MX200, and it looks pretty solid, especially for it's price. Is this a good unit? Is there something comparable or better? I'm not opposed to perhaps spending a bit more- I'm looking to make an investment in a piece of gear that I will be happy to have 5 years from now - I'm not looking for a quick fix or entry level stuff. Can you guys suggest any other standard units that provide what I'm looking for? Again reverb and delay are my primary concern, but I'd love a more comprehensive unit that has many more options.

Thanks for any help you guys can provide.

Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE

Re: Suggestions for all-in-one outboard effects unit?

Post by Joey » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:10 pm

Try out the TC Electronic Fireworx. Its a pretty incredible multi FX unit, and can be had for under $1000.
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

schmidtc