Synth For Psychedelic Rock?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
se7en
Gear: Email: mysticalpistol@gmail.com

Synth For Psychedelic Rock?

Post by se7en » Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:38 pm

Well, I have had a couple synths in the past. I'm primarily a guitar player, so I'm still somewhat new to all of it. I have the Nord Lead 2X and it just seemed to be too digital and cold (sorry, don't mean to offend any of you that own one...there are plenty of great things about the Nord as well)...most recently I bought a Moog Little Phatty, but being that it is monophonic and mostly does that Moog thing best, it wasn't quite what I needed - great synth, but I need polyphony.

Anyways, I'm basically looking to do Pink Floyd-esque sounds and other trippy stuff that will work well in a guitar-oriented rock band. I'm not looking for techno/dance sounds. Looking for something with some warmth to it and something than can get aggressive/gritty if need be as well. I appreciate your thoughts...

space6oy
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.

Re: Synth For Psychedelic Rock?

Post by space6oy » Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:58 pm

way too many options. i'd suggest you look up some bands like pink floyd that you're into and see what they've used.

se7en

Post by se7en » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:01 pm

space6oy wrote:way too many options. i'd suggest you look up some bands like pink floyd that you're into and see what they've used.
well, i know richard wright used Kurzweil mostly. I'd like a PC3K, or X but can't afford it. i'm thinking maybe an access virus c or a korg ms2000 would be a good choice...

rharris07
Expert Member
Expert Member
Band: Ghost Fires, The Witch Family

Post by rharris07 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:06 pm