What do I need? MG-1 feature needed to be added to a Prodigy

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
dzlvs8
Gear: Tons and tons of ridiculously expensive keyboards.

What do I need? MG-1 feature needed to be added to a Prodigy

Post by dzlvs8 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:52 pm

Hello Ladies, I have a dilemma. I have an Moog MG-1 that I just sold, but I loved the "auto contour" and filter feature (the filter slider that is blue and the second slider from the left. I am new to synths so sorry for being dumb but I think the feature was an arpeggiator that had some cool random feature to it or something.

My problem is, now i have a Moog Prodigy that doesnt have that feature but I do have gate In/out jacks, pitch in/out jacks, cv filter jack, and an audio in jack installed on my prodigy. Sooooo, what do I need to buy to get that feature that was on the MG-1 that I am missing on my Prodigy?

Moogerfooger Control Processor? Moogerfooger Murf? Something else? another cheap synth? will my arp omni be any help?

Synthaholic
Expert Member
Expert Member
Gear: Motif XS6, TX802, D-550, A6

Re: What do I need? MG-1 feature needed to be added to a Pro

Post by Synthaholic » Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:50 pm

dzlvs8 wrote:Hello Ladies, I have a dilemma. I have an Moog MG-1 that I just sold, but I loved the "auto contour" and filter feature (the filter slider that is blue and the second slider from the left. I am new to synths so sorry for being dumb but I think the feature was an arpeggiator that had some cool random feature to it or something.
I think the "auto contour" switch uses the LFO to retrigger the envelopes. The filter slider is just LFO->filter cutoff, which the Prodigy should be able to do already. If you're thinking of "random arpeggiator" that would be the "random" (sample&hold) option on the LFO switch.