Page 1 of 1

sequencing for dummies

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:34 am
by colorbars
To start off with i know practically nothing about sequencing so take it easy on me ;)

I'm looking for something simple, inexpensive and easy to use. I don't need anything fancy by any means but i'd like it to be intuitive. I have an esq-1, an electribe es-1 mk2 and a boss tr-505 which all i believe it is possible to sequence with, but i've never spent a whole lot of time trying to figure it out. It doesn't have to be a standalone sequencer, just something easy for someone who'd like to sequence some simple bass lines etc.

Thanks!

Re: sequencing for dummies

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:49 am
by pricklyrobot
The ES-1 can sequence external stuff, but it's more geared toward percussion-type sounds, so you can't really control notes lengths (i.e. not very good for bass or lead lines).

I'd say check out the EA-1. The interface will already be familiar to you, from the ES. It's only two tracks of mono sequencing, but it's a great way to get your feet wet in the sequencing world without a big learning curve or a lot of money. It's also a fun little synth in its own right, and the resale price seems to be pretty steady, so you could hang onto it or sell it on (with little or no monetary loss), if you decide to move up to something more deluxe/complicated (E-mu Command Station?) later on.

Re: sequencing for dummies

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:52 pm
by jeeroj
why not use the ESQ-1's sequencer?

Re: sequencing for dummies

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:49 pm
by colorbars
EA-1 looks like it might be a good way to go, thanks for the suggestion!

I've tried figuring out the esq-1's built in sequencer a few times to no avail ... i guess a person could always download a manual and read up on it but it seems like it relies heavily on menu diving, i'd like something that's a litle easier to use.

Re: sequencing for dummies

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:10 am
by colorbars
Well I just picked up an EA-1 on eBay so hopefully that will do the trick for me!

Re: sequencing for dummies

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:10 pm
by meatballfulton
colorbars wrote:I've tried figuring out the esq-1's built in sequencer a few times to no avail ... i guess a person could always download a manual and read up on it but it seems like it relies heavily on menu diving, i'd like something that's a litle easier to use.
The ESQ-1 has no menus.

It's probably the easiest sequencer ever designed. I'm amazed you find it difficult to use!