Juno 106, Original or old chips?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madmarkmagee » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:23 pm

Hey everyone
I am looking to buy a juno 106 synth off a guy who lives in Japan. He is pretty familiar with synths and the music stores their, he would track one down for me their and ship it to where I live.

anyway, he was wondering whether I want a juno 106, with all the chips replaced, or one with the original chips.

I was thinking of telling him, just to find one that works and has been serviced, and not worry about the New or old chips

I also understand that their are different types of replacement chips on the market, ranging from identical to sounding different...

Any opinions or advice on this topic?

Thanks

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madmarkmagee » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:25 pm

*I also am talking about voice chips

of course you guys probably have worked that out, LOL XD but I'm just clarifying..

I am honestly humbled in ur knowledge

intrancewetrust
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 10:34 am
Gear: sausage fingers and a bad hat

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by intrancewetrust » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:35 pm


User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5365
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madtheory » Fri Jun 03, 2011 3:02 pm

Very reasonable, and appears to be perfect. I like that he has a "Stupid Question Fee". That sells it for me. :)

intrancewetrust
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 10:34 am
Gear: sausage fingers and a bad hat

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by intrancewetrust » Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:40 pm

yeah thats pure gold :D

THEODICY
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:06 am

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by THEODICY » Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:34 am

If you read the whole thing there really is no stupid question fee ;) And it's technically not the voice chips, it's the combo vcf/vca 80017a. You can always send your voice board to the synth spa on ebay. I think he charges $145 for rehab and calibration of everything using the original chips. Alan is a good guy and does great work and is the least expensive way to get it fixed... unless you do it yourself but then you have to mess with acetone and run the chance of messing up chips. I recommend the synth spa. Turnaround is about a month if you are in the states. Why not find one locally? Where do you live?

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madmarkmagee » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:22 am

I live in Australia

I already saw that page, while digging around on the net, but I know that their are also less "good" clones floating around in Juno's too, he mentions it on his page.

so should I make sure that these "http://www.analoguerenaissance.com/D80017/" have been used in the juno, I intend to buy? I do not know if he would know. He is only the middle man.

Do all "services" use this design of clone chips?

Is it okay just to get one with part original/part new voice chips?

User avatar
snod_donkey
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:45 pm
Gear: Moog Minimoog - SCI Pro-One - Roland Sh-101 - Yamaha XS6 - Oberheim OB-Xa - Roland TD8 - Evans super Echo Tape Loop - Memeory Man Deluxe

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by snod_donkey » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:59 am

The modern chips do not sound the same in my experiance. I have 2 106 synths here i am restoring as both have the voice problem. There are 2 x clone modules fitted to one of the boards. I cant get it to set up correctly so the 6 voices sound the same. Main issue is the RES is way off so some sounds sound just wrong. It might be ok if you had all 6 changed to clones if they sounded the same but i am removing them to fit the originals back in

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5365
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madtheory » Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:37 pm

Do you know which clones they are? These ones? Or some other?
THEODICY wrote:If you read the whole thing there really is no stupid question fee ;)live?
Yes, thanks, we got that it's a joke...

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madmarkmagee » Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:32 pm

@ snod_donkey

What brand clone chips did you put in?

Ones from www.analoguerenaissance.com/D80017 ?

Thanks

User avatar
snod_donkey
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:45 pm
Gear: Moog Minimoog - SCI Pro-One - Roland Sh-101 - Yamaha XS6 - Oberheim OB-Xa - Roland TD8 - Evans super Echo Tape Loop - Memeory Man Deluxe

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by snod_donkey » Sat Jun 04, 2011 5:46 pm

madmarkmagee wrote:@ snod_donkey

What brand clone chips did you put in?

Ones from http://www.analoguerenaissance.com/D80017 ?

Thanks

They were already fitted when i got it. They don't look like those ones. I will sort a photo later

PCB has "JN800" part number. These i think were from Synthrestore in the UK

http://www.kaboodle.com/reviews/septemb ... estore.com

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madmarkmagee » Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:17 am

K, thanks, I ll do some web browsing and check it out
I have a feeling u just got badly designed clones ):
How long ago where they put in?

User avatar
GuyaGuy
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:10 am
Gear: YES PLEASE!
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by GuyaGuy » Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:40 am

I say have the chips that are in there repaired if possible.
Parting out synths makes baby Jexus cry.

THEODICY
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:06 am

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by THEODICY » Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:09 am

Screw the clones if you can. The Aussie dollar is better than the US dollar right now I think so try and find out how much it would cost for the service. Or, you could sell those original chips and order the GOOD clones. modelessfactory.com might be able to find and service you a 106 without the middle man. You may want to contact them. The 106 is worth it!

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Juno 106, Original or old chips?

Post by madmarkmagee » Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:57 am

Are you Australian THEODICY?

Yea there was a ton of fully serviced Juno 106 coming on sale in Australia for like between 660-900. But then I had no cash then. There was a serviced one that came on sale in sydeny, which i could have gone out and gotten that went for 660. LOL makes me cry... jokes... jokes

LOL i'm a student, so saving up for musical instruments is a painfully slow experience

I have about 800 AU for the cause now, but should have 950 in two weeks

So i'm going to wait and see if another one comes up in au... (But again... i've seen them go for 900), then if one doesn't come up, go for one from japan

The reserve banks meeting on Tuesday... terrified their going to do something that will lower the dollar, before I can get a juno lol D:

I'll take a better look at modelessfactory.com it looks good

Also worried that it will get damaged in the post... things aren't safe till their in my hands lol

Lol, scraping junos for parts does make jexus CRY !!!!

Post Reply