Korg DW-8000 as a first synth?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
groy

Korg DW-8000 as a first synth?

Post by groy » Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:24 pm

Would this make sense?

I'm a newbie and can't really play a keyboard. I'm not interested in presets, I want something to learn more about patch creation on and also synch via midi. I have two groove boxes (korg emx, and roland mc-505), but feel limited by the sounds I can get out of the emx and want to expand on the mc-505 (which is a bit of a pain to edit and only sometimes sounds good). I basically use the step editor and appregiator on my emx to trigger notes on the 505 where i can mash out some chords, and hope to do this on the new synth. Also, a built in appregiator is important.

What I really want is a MS-2000 or 2000R for the sequencer, but am really choosing between a used microkorg and a dw-6000 or 8000 due to a super limited budget.

Thoughts?

visceralvoids
Gear: Access Virus TI - Roland JD990 - Sequential Drumtraks - Novation 61SLmkII

Re: Korg DW-8000 as a first synth?

Post by visceralvoids » Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:36 pm

MS2000/2000b/microKorg all have the same DWGS digital waves the DW-8000 has, but with a more powerful and independent analog style engine, better modulation and routing options. Used microKorgs are cheap, another good choice is the rack MS plus a midi controller. The microKorg has mini keys and the MS keybed is rather short.

Other good synth options for this, and around 500 bucks are: Alesis Ion (no fx or sequencer, but Micron has it), Yamaha AN-1x (or AN-200 plus MIDI controller), Roland JP-8000/8080 rack + controller, for a little more cash you can get a more powerful modern VA like a Virus, Nord (no fx or sequencer), Waldorfs - I'm sure others will have their own suggestions.

groy

Post by groy » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:46 pm