New here. Looking for a drum machine.

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Noon Perhaps

New here. Looking for a drum machine.

Post by Noon Perhaps » Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:52 pm

Hello! I'm a long time user of Vintage Synth Explorer (have been since sophomore year of high school!) but funny enough I've never actually made an account or have ever used the forms here. So this is my frist time posting in general! I am currently 19 and a freshman in college and I'm looking to buy some equipment for my first setup. I've been saving up for perhaps three years now and I do have a little bit of cash to spend. So keeping it in my budget isn't entirely an issue.

I'm looking for a kitschy, tacky analog drum machine. In particular something like the Korg Mini Pops or Roland TR-66. I'm looking to have a soft, kitschy retro sound that I can blend with twee pop and indie. Like Kittycraft, Volume All*Star and Land of the Loops. I would like the drum machine to be fairy simple but It would be nice if I could program it a little bit more than simply waltz, samba and fox trot. Though the simpler the better.

Could I get any suggestions? Would be much appreciated!

edfunction
Gear: sh-101, monomachine, nordmodular, esx1, nova, jx3p, jx8p, prophet vs, dx200

Re: New here. Looking for a drum machine.

Post by edfunction » Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:29 am

might be hard to find a cheap one one but i would definitely recommend a roland cr-8000. programmable as well as having volume controls for most sounds (very handy). the boss dr55 is also great but, less flexible and less sounds.
korg kr55 is also good. cr78 also good but this is bound to be costly.
sometimes analog beatboxes pop up at thrift shops for nothing, less than they used to. keep an eye out for anything that is big and wooden and says rhythm somewhere on it. chances are it could get you there....

Noon Perhaps

Post by Noon Perhaps » Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:32 am