Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
User avatar
Jay200MPH
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:04 pm
Gear: Currently active:
x0xb0x, MC-202, Microkorg, PSR-36, mini-KP, SA-5, JV-1010, S-760, CMU-800.
Sequenced in Impulse Tracker on a P233 w/AWE64+GUS.
Location: Auckland

Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Jay200MPH » Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:57 am

...besides the usual 606/707/808/909? Just wondering what my options are.

Boss DR-series maybe? Did any non-Roland gear use sync 24?

I'm looking for something VAGUELY 606-ish or 909-ish, but with its own unique sound too if that makes any sense. The "analog side" of my setup is all Roland-derived so running everything off a Roland style clock would work really well.

BTW am I correct in that the 505 and 626 DO NOT have sync in/out?

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by ninja6485 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:18 am

Not what you're looking for, but I'm sure you know the 727 is just like the 707, and as such has the din sync.
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Jay200MPH
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:04 pm
Gear: Currently active:
x0xb0x, MC-202, Microkorg, PSR-36, mini-KP, SA-5, JV-1010, S-760, CMU-800.
Sequenced in Impulse Tracker on a P233 w/AWE64+GUS.
Location: Auckland

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Jay200MPH » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:00 am

Yeah, I've looked at them in the past, but the sounds just aren't what I'm looking for and they're too expensive to use strictly as a master sync/midi clock box. Plus 707s go for just about the same money here.

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Z » Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:05 pm

Correct, the TR-505 and 626 and Boss DRs do not have DIN sync.

Roland CR-8000 has one DIN sync port with selectable IN/OUT

Kawai R-100 has one DIN sync port for IN/OUT.

Korg used 5 pin DIN sync on some of their products, but their clocks run at 48ppq as opposed to Roland's 24ppq. Korg made a KMS-30 with 1 MIDI IN, 2 MIDI OUTs, 1 DIN Sync IN and 2 OUTs - each with selectable ppq.

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Hybrid88 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:12 pm

Am I right in thinking the SCI Drumtracks is compatible with Din too?

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by pflosi » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:02 pm

If you want a master clock with DIN, I'd have a look at the MC202 (no midi though, but two channels of CV sequencing). Another - better - option would be the Korg KMS30 - midi, din (48 and 24 ppqn) and tape sync. Each can be the master or the slave. You'd still need a master clock, but this is nice to distribute clocks in midi / sync24 / sync48 / tape. I got mine for like 50$ just some months ago.

Apart from that, some Jomox and most Acidlab gear has din inputs / outputs... All of them that do can convert midi->din sync.

Cheers!

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Z » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:43 pm

The SCI DrumTraks does not have DIN sync.

Pflosi brought up a good point about having a master clock. I use a Roland SBX-10 as a master clock since it has 2 MIDI OUTs, 2 Sync24 DIN OUTs and 2 1/4" clock outs with adjustable clock speeds (48, 96 & 120 ppq) which I use to sync my DMX (96ppq) and LinnDrum (48ppq).

plikestechno
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 757
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:36 pm
Gear: Lots. See sig.
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by plikestechno » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:12 pm

If analog, I'd go CR-8000 before they get even more expensive.
Digital, I'd go Kawai R-100. Great hub for everything and still super cheap.
Serge/Modcan A/MOTM/Frac/Phenol/Andromeda/Jupiter6Europa/OctaveCatSRM/ARPSolina/ARPPro Soloist/Pro2/Korg770/Juno60/Lambda/Anamono/Little Deformer/Integra7/Microwave1&2/Syncussion/FS1R/Microkorg/Xoxio/VL1M/JD990/MKS50/TX816/DSS1/KARP/TG33/OCoast/SC40

User avatar
Sir Nose
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:54 pm
Real name: Bob
Gear: Machinedrum, Octatrack, Moog LP, x0xb0x, Elka Solist 505, Simmons SDS-400
Location: PA

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Sir Nose » Mon Jan 07, 2013 2:09 am

The SCI drumtraks definitely has DIN sync. 24, 48, or 96 ppq. OS 0.5 can sync the analog clock to midi as well.

Edited bullshit. Sorry :oops:

And the Drumtraks needs a converter cable for 1/4 to din but sends the proper clock.
Last edited by Sir Nose on Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
Funkadelic wrote: nothing is good unless you play with it
all that is good is nasty

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Z » Mon Jan 07, 2013 2:40 am

Interesting, neither my AS Europa or SCI DrumTraks have DIN sync.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by ninja6485 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:10 am

I can't get my drumtrax to sync with any of my Roland gear either.
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Sir Ruff » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:59 am

Sir Nose wrote:The SCI drumtraks definitely has DIN sync.

Elektron machine drum has DIN sync.
No, they don't... where are you getting this from?

The new elektron A4 send DIN, but that's not a drum machine.
Do you even post on vse bro?

User avatar
Jay200MPH
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:04 pm
Gear: Currently active:
x0xb0x, MC-202, Microkorg, PSR-36, mini-KP, SA-5, JV-1010, S-760, CMU-800.
Sequenced in Impulse Tracker on a P233 w/AWE64+GUS.
Location: Auckland

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Jay200MPH » Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:01 am

There's a Korg DDM-110 on the local classified site for dirt cheap... I don't know if I feel like waiting forever for a sync doubler to show up (or trying to build one/spending $$$ to get one from overseas!) for such a limited drum machine though. If it were a KPR-77 I'd probably bite.

I sould probably just have something really flexible like an Electribe and sync the MC202 via the x0xb0x... but where's the fun in that?

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Sir Ruff » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:53 pm

Jay200MPH wrote:There's a Korg DDM-110 on the local classified site for dirt cheap... I don't know if I feel like waiting forever for a sync doubler to show up (or trying to build one/spending $$$ to get one from overseas!) for such a limited drum machine though. If it were a KPR-77 I'd probably bite.

I sould probably just have something really flexible like an Electribe and sync the MC202 via the x0xb0x... but where's the fun in that?
The DDM is pretty dope sound-wise, but not that fun to use. Still, if you just need riddims, I'd go for it. Bear in mind it will run half tempo to the 202 unless you program it double-time (which I'm not sure that you can do).
Do you even post on vse bro?

Pro-502
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: Drum machines with Roland DIN-Sync

Post by Pro-502 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:00 pm

Novation Drumstation.

Post Reply