Oscilliscope for synth work

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Skiroy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:38 am

Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Skiroy » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:36 am

I want to get into some light audio repair on my synths and Calibration of my OBXA. What Megahertz rating for a Oscilliscope do I need?

User avatar
Broadwave
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:50 am
Gear: Kronos 2-88, Fantom 6, System 8, MODX6, Behringer Odyssey, BroadWAVE ARP 2600EX, BroadWAVE Modular, BroadWAVE Sparta, BroadWAVE Minimoog.
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Broadwave » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:33 am

I use an old Hitachi V422 (Dual trace, 40Mhz) for all my repair stuff - got it off eBay nice and cheap. Does everything I need it to.

A 20Mhz scope will also do the job.

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Bitexion » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:05 am

You don't have to get those huge tabletop models with a CRT screen..there are cheap digital handheld scopes with LCD screens too. Not much larger than your average multimeter.
Don't get the cool CRT screen burn effect, but it works.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by pflosi » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:58 pm

You don't need much MHz for synth work - however, you might want to look into storage and trigger options (to see slow modulations well), that's more important...

User avatar
EmptySet
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:33 am
Gear: MS20, x0xb0x, JV-1080, JX-3P, JX-8P(PG800), Juno Stage, VFX-SD, VL-1, ARP Omni I, D-50, DW6000
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by EmptySet » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:35 pm

What do you guys think of cheap scopes like this?

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/digita ... ?cPath=190

I mean for audio work. Like for calibrating synths and the life.

User avatar
synthroom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.
Location: pdx
Contact:

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by synthroom » Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:01 am

I recently bought a new Rigol 100 MHz dual channel oscilloscope for $420 including shipping. It' s pretty neat!
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5908
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:15 pm

I have a huge 60s era Tektonix scope, it's all tube 8-) and I only paid $20 for it with 3 probes.

Check your local wantads, old scopes go for stupid cheap.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Jorvik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 12:25 pm
Gear: Axxe, Odyssey, Pro Soloist; Mopho keys, SE; Dark Energy, A100 modules; Solina; Volcas; String Melody II; Streichfett; Little Phatty, Sub37
Location: The Danelaw, UK

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Jorvik » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:21 pm

About six months ago I bought a DSO Nano, which is also listed on the Seeed site. It's now been superceded twice but is still available through Amazon, in the UK at least.

I upgraded the firmware, which was a bit problematical -- at one point it seemed that I'd totally bricked it :oops: but I managed to sort it out in the end :) The newer, unofficial firmware was a lot easier to use and I think is supposed to increase performance as well.

I bought it specifically to service/calibrate my Odyssey. The scope was perfect for what I needed it for and at 40 quid I couldn't go wrong. It's also fun to just use it to compare waveforms on different synths.

My Oddy is a lot better than when I obtained it, supposedly "fully serviced" by a well-known company, but it's not perfect -- eventually it will have to go for a proper service with recapping etc, but for the time being at least it's now in tune! :mrgreen:

User avatar
Cybercardinal
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Cybercardinal » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:06 am


Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3867
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Ashe37 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:51 am

Whats the *resolution* for that?

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5314
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by madtheory » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:53 pm

meatballfulton wrote:I have a huge 60s era Tektonix scope, it's all tube 8-) and I only paid $20 for it with 3 probes.

Check your local wantads, old scopes go for stupid cheap.
Yep. Or check your local college, they might have some in a skip because they're outmoded and they're not legally allowed to sell em. You only need 20MHz dual channel. I wouldn't risk using my smart phone/ ipad/ PC WHY.

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Bitexion » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:28 pm

No, hit the wrong spot with a probe and you'll blow up your iPad. Scopes have security features that go off if you overload a probe.

Skiroy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:38 am

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Skiroy » Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:53 pm

Okay guys I just won a Hitachi V422 on ebay. One thing Inoticed i that alot of scope dont include the probes. So I have 2 questions

1. Will any probe work or is there variables?
I was looking at these probes.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/320847586236?ss ... 1423.l2649

Or these which are 100mhz
http://www.ebay.com/itm/370710087489?ss ... 1423.l2649


2. Second question is can anyone explain the significance of the MHZ of a scope?

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3867
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Ashe37 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:11 pm

*takes off synth nerd hat*

*puts on Army commo tech hat*

The MHz of a 'scope represents the highest frequency it can display readably. Higher MHZ frequencies are necessary in 'scopes for for radio-frequency applications and some digital applications. Yes, you can buy GHz-frequency oscilloscopes. No, they aren't cheap. No, you won't need them for synth work.

Probes are considered disposable items, they wear out.

*takes off Army commo tech hat*

Skiroy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:38 am

Re: Oscilliscope for synth work

Post by Skiroy » Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:32 am

So a 100mhz probe will work fine with a 40mhz scope?

Post Reply