Help for noob's first analog synth

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
wakingmeme

Help for noob's first analog synth

Post by wakingmeme » Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:29 pm

Hello All,

I'm looking for some assistance in selecting or understanding my first analog synth. I've got some experience with software synths and I really just want something I can touch, play around with, and learn on.

That said, I do have some semblance of an idea towards what I want. I think I want it to be analog, and possibly vintage.

So, any suggestions?

Right now I'm looking at these two synths:

http://www.vintagesynth.com/roland/jx3p.php (no programmer, 300)

http://www.vintagesynth.com/dsi/mopho.php (500)

The latter I know is not vintage, but it seems more hands-on than the jx3p, and perhaps comes with fewer potential maintenance head-aches.

Thanks!!

tim gueguen

Re: Help for noob's first analog synth

Post by tim gueguen » Sun Jun 23, 2013 8:48 pm

The Mopho will only play one note at a time, so if chords are important to you you'll want the JX3p.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound

zoomtheline
No Longer Registered

Post by zoomtheline » Sun Jun 23, 2013 9:11 pm

Those synths are so far apart in what they offer that pretty much any synth is a viable option for you. What sounds are you wanting to achieve and what are your influences? And I guess the main thing is, what is your budget?

Stafftunes
Gear: Jupiter 6, JX-3P, Nord Rack 2, Blofeld, TX81z,JV2080, RY30, A4000, SK30 + Misc stuff
Band: Stafftunes

Post by Stafftunes » Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:10 am

My roland JX3P was my second ever analogue synth, the first being my yammy SK30.