hello forum = Old school heads looking for gear, advice.

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
sol-bass-rec
Gear: Juno 106
Mophox4, MG-1, BS2
Ensoniq Fizmo
Yamaha CS6X AN1X AN200 DX200 RX11
Roland TR-808 & R8
Aira: System 1 TR-8 TB-3 VT-3
Acidlab Miami
Band: Bass Records, Suite 16, Meg Li

hello forum = Old school heads looking for gear, advice.

Post by sol-bass-rec » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:59 am

Hello forum,

So not a complete noob to synths. I actually grew up in Orlando in the 80s and 90s. So I've had my fair share of music genres engraved in my soul and lots of fun dancing back in the day. Freestyle, bass, electro, breaks, progressive.

If you're from or partied in the O you're most familiar with Aahz, Firestone, Cyberzone.

Anyway did my DJ thing for 10 goods years, spent countless hours in Reason, flirted with the idea of full sail. Eventually landed in NC and to a point In the road where I needed to further my career and break from djing and nightlife. I never had the money to dive into hardware.

now that my career is going I've reconnected with friends and have the money to buy some gear. This has been a fetish with a couple sleepless nights. So let's get to the point....

1. Had many people sway me away from an 808. Yes $4,000 on ebay is ridiculous. I've been back and forth over 808 vs. Tanzbar, Miami, Jomox 888 and even bought the TR8 and jomox888 being delivered this week.
Has the 808 just recently shot up in price to 4k?
I know I probably need to just buy em all and feel em out.
The TR8 has a good BD and SD, the others are okay.
Guess I'm looking for an all around 808 BD, but that won't be my only BD.
Any feedback on what I've listed or anything I have not listed for a drum machine sequencer?