Page 1 of 1

8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 10:06 pm
by vicd
(patching time :!: )

Ok, so I'm looking for a 8x8 rackmount MIDI patchbay able to merge inputs. I probably also will do with a 6 ins/8 outs.
Spec sheet:
  • Ability to run standalone is A MUST; as is standalone configurability (no computer should be used - just me and the box).
  • If it happens to have any computer connectivity, it should be USB and should be able to run on XP and Win7 - be it a full computer-to-MIDI interface, or just patch management.
  • Memory-wise: ability to store at least 10-12 patch settings. Dozens = good, hundreds = not needed.
  • User interface: something non-spartan and visual is welcome.
  • Timing stability: well, the less jitter/slipping, the better.
  • I'd prefer one with an external PSU (to avoid all the usual 110/220 hassle), but that's of less importance.
  • Channel/event filtering doesn't matter (but good as an option).


So far I have the following on the list:
  • Roland A880 (too expensive?)
  • Edirol UM880 (too expensive?)
  • MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV (with or without USB)
  • Digital Music Corp MX-8
  • JL Cooper MSB 8x8
  • Akai ME80P

Speaking of budget, I'd prefer keeping it within US$100-150 (extendable if any really good reasons).

Would you guys please share any comments, caveats or advice?
Do I miss/omit anything?
Should I look into M-Audio Midisport 8x8 or eMagic Unitor amt8 or any generation of MOTU Midi Express XT, if they happen to be properly manageable from a Windows7/XP PC?

P.S. - yes I did scan the related threads on GS.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 10:18 pm
by plus321
kmx 16 or kmx 8. KMX-16 definitely has 15 ins, 16 outs, 2 inputs merge. Like $100-150 on ebay.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 10:25 am
by pflosi
vicd wrote:Should I look into M-Audio Midisport 8x8
I like the Midisport 8x8, it's very flexible; however, you need a computer to configure the routings.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 3:12 pm
by fh991586
I can vouch for the durability and the clear & simple interface of the Roland A-880. Up to $120 won't be lost on such a module (but I personally never had to pay more than $80 for one)! No computer required: it's a stand alone rack.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 3:51 pm
by synthroom
pflosi wrote:
vicd wrote:Should I look into M-Audio Midisport 8x8
I like the Midisport 8x8, it's very flexible; however, you need a computer to configure the routings.
I've got two Midisport 8x8s - they work fine with Win7. And since they are actual Midi interfaces, you can just connect directly to devices without using any merging.

That said, I used a MX-8 before and it worked nicely for a merger, and a Yamaha MJC8 before that. I was never able to really figure out the Yamaha...

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 3:59 pm
by pflosi
Yeah, the Midisport is totally fine, but the OP stated he wanted to be able to configure the routing without using a computer... Which you cannot do with it...

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 5:26 pm
by synthroom
Sorry, missed that...

MX-8 then, not too expensive.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 7:46 am
by Quai34
Hi,
Yes for the roland A880, it was my first midi interface in the 80's with my Atari computer and I still use it when gigging live...very easy, no need to run a computer, you have memories for different configuration and anyway, just push buttons and it's set...so...

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:49 pm
by Sava66
I paid $35 for ensoniq kmx-8 on eBay. Pretty awesome

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:38 pm
by FlavioB
HI there. I think I'm revamping an old thread here.. anyway: I got options to choose between Roland A-880 and Yamaha MJC-8. I never heard of the latter one, read more about A-880 instead.

What is the real difference between those two units?

Why does it seem "difficult" to figure out the Yamaha one?

Thanks and regards,
Flavio.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:53 pm
by baz99
What about the Emagic AMT8?
It can work standalone and as a USB MIDI interface connected to a PC/Mac.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:59 pm
by FlavioB
baz99 wrote:What about the Emagic AMT8?
It can work standalone and as a USB MIDI interface connected to a PC/Mac.
Really? Didn't know about this - even though I already saw some AMT8 in some studios!
OK... and... is there any way to dump/backup via SysEx those MIDI patchers/bays? AFAIK it's not possibile on the A-880...

Thanks and regards,
F.

PS: what are the pros/cons of the AMT8 vs. A-880 vs. MJC-8 vs. MKX-8/16?

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:29 pm
by FlavioB
baz99 wrote:What about the Emagic AMT8?
It can work standalone and as a USB MIDI interface connected to a PC/Mac.
OK - back after some googling: the AMT-8 isnt' bad at all, but it has to be "pre-programmed" from PC/Mac. Thus it gets useless in some live rig where no PC/Mac is available.

I now was putting my eyes on a KMX-8 because of the ability to make SysEx dumps of the 30 patch memories it has.
So far, I have to leave out AMT-8 and eventually the MJC-8 as well (I've been told it being quite "cryptic" to configure/set up).

So, finally: KMX-8 vs. A-880!

Who wins?

Or are there some other pretenders?

F.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:27 am
by recordbot
FlavioB wrote:
baz99 wrote:
Or are there some other pretenders?
Sycologic M16?

I have one in pieces if you want to pay postage it's yours, awesome machine, I am looking for another one, it remembers different midi configurations and has a remote

I don't think you can connect it to a computer though so you would need another midi USB to connect to it but from there you could control everything and swap layouts with the push of a button

the one I have speaks Japanese or there is something seriously wrong with it, when they work they go for 100-150

you could try a JL cooper synapse also which is similar but no remote, it does merge while the sycologic does not.