Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Post Reply
Antimatter
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 2:03 am

Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Antimatter » Thu May 29, 2014 1:06 am

I'm split on whether to buy the Novation Ultranova and Roland Gaia. The one feature I really need is the ability to play, let's say the bass line of a song, save it, then play the lead over the bass, both at the same time.

Do either of these synthesizers have that capability, and if not, is there something I can hook up to the synth (besides a computer/laptop) to give it recording/playback capability?

Thanks.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Ashe37 » Thu May 29, 2014 1:07 am

you're looking for a 'sequencer'.

Antimatter
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 2:03 am

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Antimatter » Thu May 29, 2014 1:24 am

Ashe37 wrote:you're looking for a 'sequencer'.
Yeah, that's the word for it. I'm guessing neither the ultranova nor the gaia have a built in one, so what are some recommended (inexpensive) sequencers that will work with them?

EDIT: Found this site, but you have to pay to see the video.
http://maschinetutorials.com/novation-u ... /#comments

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Ashe37 » Thu May 29, 2014 1:42 am

cheapest sequencer is going to be a midi cable to your PC and a daw like REAPER. Keep in mind you'll run out of polyphony on your synth tho, *if* it is multutimbral.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu May 29, 2014 1:59 am

Neither of those synths is multitimbral (unless you count the GM section on the Gaia, which you shouldn't) so if you want to do what you're saying you need to record the audio from the output to a DAW (or looper, or hardware recorder) before you change the patch and play the next sound.

Antimatter
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 2:03 am

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Antimatter » Thu May 29, 2014 2:19 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:Neither of those synths is multitimbral (unless you count the GM section on the Gaia, which you shouldn't) so if you want to do what you're saying you need to record the audio from the output to a DAW (or looper, or hardware recorder) before you change the patch and play the next sound.
Okay, thanks for clearing that up. Would you recommend any good hardware loopers/recorders that will work with the Ultranova and Gaia?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu May 29, 2014 4:21 am

The Elektron Octatrack would be a good choice. Can sequence the UN over midi too. I use those two together and they're great.

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Question about Novation Ultranova & Roland Gaia

Post by madmarkmagee » Thu May 29, 2014 6:07 pm

The Gaia has a phase sequencer (google it for more info). You could record a a sequence, then play it back, and play over it, with out any external hardware. However the Gaia is not mult-timbral. That means that say I have a brass patch, I can play a brass bass and a brass lead, but couldn't do a brass bass and a string lead.

Post Reply