The Rentals tone with new budget synth (Minibrute, MS-20, BS

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
roaring_blood

The Rentals tone with new budget synth (Minibrute, MS-20, BS

Post by roaring_blood » Tue Oct 13, 2015 5:21 am

Hi everyone.
I have very little synth experience so any advice would be much appreciated. I have looked through the forums and mostly see posts about electric music. not so much what I am looking for.

I am want to buy a analogue synth as an early Christmas present for my keyboard player wife. We have also been asked to play a special one off cover band night and we think The Rentals would be a lot of fun.

I want to get something on a budget and relatively new. I need to avoid vintage since this is meant as something for her not another project to sit on my work bench.

Any thoughts on the Bass Station II, MiniBrute, or MS-20 getting that sort of tone?

for reference:

Rokk

Re: The Rentals tone with new budget synth (Minibrute, MS-20

Post by Rokk » Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:00 am

I'd go with the Minibrute. The MS20 is great, but has serious noise issues and no pulse width modulation which is a great con in my book, although it has lots of character and is quite flexible being semi modular.
Bass station 2 could be a great synth. But the omission of one very important parameter - variable filter tracking - is preventing it to be a great synth. If you can live with that, then fine. I can't.
Minibrute has a very simple, what you see is what you get interface. No presets, but really, it's quite a simple synth and tweaking it is fast. The oscillator section is amazing with four waveforms present simultaneously, plus noise, plus audio input. It has lots of unique tricks up its sleeve like ultrasaw, triangle metalizer and brute factor, plus a switch for fast or slow envelope which can be really handy and creative.

natrixgli
Gear: USB Hub, Pedalboard, Keyboard Stand, and many cables.