First serious gear for electronic music

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.

First serious gear for electronic music

Postby nullspace » Thu Jul 21, 2016 2:18 pm

Hi,

My experience so far in music production has been mainly using software (I own ableton live and some vsti) but the main problem for me has always been the lack of "feeling" through a computer interface.
Now that I have some money, I want to invest a bit more into hardware since I like just turning things on on and start to create through a physical interface (I used to own a proper digital piano at some point and always found it great to just play and get some inspirations)

My aim is to produce electronic music which I have been listening to for 15+ years (from experimental to more club stuff). To begin with, I would be happy to start having a sound like Minilogue / Sebastian Mullaert (see e.g. https://www.attackmagazine.com/features ... inilogue/; a recent sound I like for example is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lQ28CecS2s )

I am thinking of a drum machine like MFB-522 and bass synth such as moog minitaur or some synth like Virus T1 or Waldorf synths. What do you think? My budget is <= £2000

PS. I am aware that with a budget like this it is unlikely to sound like Minilogue but this was to give some example of the music I like
nullspace

Re: First serious gear for electronic music

Postby BlackGnosis » Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:41 am

As a fellow virus user, I can understand the appeal behind wanting to get a TI.

Do keep in mind if you want to use it with anything else USB, you need to get an MTT, This is because it runs on a USB 1.0 circuit that's been beefed to compensate with near real time data-streaming, but it's still a USB hogging 1.0.