Best synth for gig (neo soul music)

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
Pianoman0018
Gear: Nord Stage 2 , Fender Rhodes Mk2 suitcase, Wurlitzer 200a, Clavinet d6, Moog Little Phatty, Hammond XK3C

Best synth for gig (neo soul music)

Post by Pianoman0018 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:57 pm

Hello
I am new to the synth world
I have a moog little phatty and im looking to buy a polyphonic synth
The style of music im playing is neo soul / nujazz and staff like this ( hiatus kaiyote , robert glasper etc)
So at the beginning i wanted to buy a korg ms2000 but i found the sound very thin plus its the same price with the new Korg Minilogue! Some other friends telling me about roland jd-xi hat fat sounds
Now i found a prophet 08 and im really confused whats better for the music im playing?
Any help would be appreciated

ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers

Re: Best synth for gig (neo soul music)

Post by ninja6485 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:59 pm

The Minilogue is only 4 voices, which means you will only be able to play 4 notes at a time! So if you're using any complex jazz chords, expect voice stealing while you play, which could ruin your piece. I'm not too familiar with the artists you mentioned, so it's hard to say if that will be a problem for you.

Synths from the MS 2000's era sometimes require a little programming to beef them up. I know with the radias, you can stack the voices in a number of ways, but on their own they're no moog.