Beginner Wanting a Synth with a Sequencer

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.
GIRain

Beginner Wanting a Synth with a Sequencer

Post by GIRain » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:27 pm

Hello. I have joined this forum today in the hope that someone can give me advice about which synth to buy.

In my youth I was in a great band back in 1983. I was the guitarist. We had a keyboard player who used a Roland JX3P as far as I can remember.

Nowadays I write and record music by myself. I am not technical at all but my partner can operate my little portastudio well enough to record my efforts. I haven’t used keyboards so far in my songwriting.

I would really like to recreate one of the songs we used to play and as I cannot play the keyboard fluently in real time I wondered if I could use a step sequencer to achieve this.

I have a little home keyboard but cannot play well enough in real time to play the song.

Do they still make synths with simple step sequencers in? Or do I need to buy a vintage synth?

I’m sorry to say I have zero knowledge about synths. I know what I want to do though, which is to enter my simple tunes note by note, then play them back and record them on my portasudio.

I do not need a wide range of fancy sounds and I don’t mind how many keys it has or what size they are. I don’t want to use anything that links to a computer or uses software as I like old fashioned solid instruments.

I don’t want to spend a fortune. I basically have no idea where to start in looking for a synth and like the idea of a vintage one. Thanks. :D

recordbot

Re: Beginner Wanting a Synth with a Sequencer

Post by recordbot » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:04 pm