VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5694
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:58 pm

New free software modular, the VCV Rack. It's standalone only right now but a VST/AU wrapper is promised. I've downloaded it and it definitely works although it's not perfect.

Only one filter so far is the big one. You will use lots of multiples! Just a simple 2 VCO, 1 VCF, 1 VCA, 1 EG patch required 3 of them just like a real modular :? I haven't yet found a MIDI Learn function to map controllers, so it's all mouse and trackpad for now. Since it's open source, users can roll their own modules...an enhanced MIDI interface with CC outputs would certainly help.

Good news: the filter will self oscillate all on it's own with no input which is rare in softsynths and simple FM seems to be free of aliasing.

I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
desmond
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by desmond » Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:36 pm

Autodafe has an extra bunch of modules in a few free module packs too...

https://www.autodafe.net/virtual-instru ... dules.html

User avatar
briandc
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:38 am
Real name: brian
Gear: 3 Midi controllers and anything linux! :)
Contact:

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by briandc » Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:32 pm

A few more modules:

LOG

brian
Feeling trapped behind Windows? Try linux: More than 500 flavors to choose from!
LinuxSynths.com
amSynth on Soundcloud

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5694
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:10 am

I've been using it on an iMac. It's overly sensitive to the mouse, often my mouse actions cause the screen to scroll up and down or left and right when I'm trying to control a knob. Anyone else seeing this?

That's been annoying me quite a bit, reminds me how I hate skeumorphism. I hope the VST/AU wrapper comes soon, it would be nice to be able to access the knobs from my MIDI controller instead of using the mouse.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by Bitexion » Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:20 pm

Another issue is that half of the face buttons on the Mutable instruments modules do nothing. They've just put the code in there but not replicated the button functions.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5694
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:14 pm

Some updates, in case anyone is interested.
meatballfulton wrote:I've been using it on an iMac. It's overly sensitive to the mouse, often my mouse actions cause the screen to scroll up and down or left and right when I'm trying to control a knob. Anyone else seeing this?
I found the solution, use a wired mouse with a Mac. The Apple Magic Mouse is too sensitive to motions that might be interpreted as activating the scroll wheel and VCV Rack responds to these, causing the screen to be scrolled.
I hope the VST/AU wrapper comes soon, it would be nice to be able to access the knobs from my MIDI controller instead of using the mouse.
Turns out it is not a wrapper, rather a bridge (called VCV Bridge, doh) similar to Rewire, Jack or Soundflower. VCV Rack is still running outside of the DAW so recall is not as elegant as it would be if it were a plugin. Now that I can use it inside my DAW, I'll be spending more time with it. And that wired mouse ;)

EDIT: Bridge allows audio into Rack as well as out of Rack. That allows you to use Rack as an effects processor inside your DAW. Pretty cool.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2762
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers
Location: Exton/ westchester

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by ninja6485 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:00 pm

This is an amazing piece of software! Thanks for posting meatball.

At first I couldn't figure out how to log in through the software itself... After searching around I found that some of the fields at the top right were "permanently" inaccessible to me, no matter how much I stretched the window. What I had to do to get to the login button was change my screen size in my computer's display settings: there's a field that says zoom: 150%. As soon as I changed it to 100%, everything was visible and I could access the additional modules.
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Hua
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:00 am
Real name: Gasper
Location: Clifton, NJ

Re: VCV Modular -- and it's FREE!

Post by Hua » Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:30 am

VCV Rack as vst plugin!
It's not the same as their bridge plugin,this one opens Vcv rack as fx or instrument in the daw with Gui and parameter automation!
I've tested in reaper and works like a charm!

Post Reply