real time Vocoder vsti

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
midi2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:04 am
Gear: Alesis S4+, Yamaha: TG77, TG500, SY35, TX7, KORG: 03R/W, P3, DW6000, Kawai: K1, K4r, Roland: D-50, Fantom XR, A-33 , Oberheim: MC1000, MC2000 EX

real time Vocoder vsti

Post by midi2 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:15 am

Is there somothing like that?It should have an audio input so i can use a microphone

User avatar
elmosexwhistle
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:27 am
Real name: Alex
Band: Elmo Sexwhistle
Location: Birmingham
Contact:

...

Post by elmosexwhistle » Fri Oct 20, 2006 2:14 pm

the built in cubase vocoder will yet you assign midi notes to it for live use...then just monitor the audio track and kabam!

the akai vocoder is good too..x

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:44 pm

All VSTis are real time, you just need to sort out your audio interface so the latency isn't noticable.

User avatar
Thefumigator
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:37 am
Real name: Amalfi
Band: thefumigator
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post by Thefumigator » Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:50 pm

Fruity vocoder!!! I love it!! But I don't think it coudl be used outside FL studio...

Don't know nothing about vocoders, but the FL vocoder needs an instrument (it could be any softsynth), and your mic to vocode it. You press the keys, the softsynth should sound, but it doesn't, til you talk to your mic, and that produces your softsynth to talk. It could be made with any external synth I think.

I remember I did a mp3 demo of it, I could post it again if you want.
Image
watch my first youtube video :D
-We're gonna die, you know.
-Maybe. But if we die, we're gonna die walking.

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Post by Tidda » Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:57 pm

Stab Frenzy wrote:All VSTis are real time, you just need to sort out your audio interface so the latency isn't noticable.
I think he means softvocoders with a (vst) input.
With some, like EVM Syncoder, you have to load a sample of the speech.

User avatar
elmosexwhistle
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:27 am
Real name: Alex
Band: Elmo Sexwhistle
Location: Birmingham
Contact:

...

Post by elmosexwhistle » Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:02 am

thats what i thought, both the built in vocoder vst in cubase and the akai one let you do it all in real time...you just have to assign the midi track to the vocoder plugin...monitor your audio track, and play some notes on your control keyboard...x

User avatar
ex_action_figure
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by ex_action_figure » Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:16 am

anyone know how to midi control orange vocoder in ableton live? it sounds great but is useless if I can't control the pitch

User avatar
elmosexwhistle
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:27 am
Real name: Alex
Band: Elmo Sexwhistle
Location: Birmingham
Contact:

...

Post by elmosexwhistle » Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:17 am

orange vocoder doesnt do it i'm afraid...i think...that piece of software is well outdated anyway! x

User avatar
viscerallove
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by viscerallove » Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:09 am

NI Vokator
my music

Clavia Nord Lead
Korg Poly 800
Korg DSS-1
Oberheim Matrix-6
Novation KS 4
Roland V-Synth

User avatar
ex_action_figure
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: ...

Post by ex_action_figure » Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:55 am

elmosexwhistle wrote:orange vocoder doesnt do it i'm afraid...i think...that piece of software is well outdated anyway! x
yea it is, but it's the only software vocoder that I think sounds good I've tried a few others but haven't really been able to get those classic electro robot or kraftwerk sounds.

midi2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:04 am
Gear: Alesis S4+, Yamaha: TG77, TG500, SY35, TX7, KORG: 03R/W, P3, DW6000, Kawai: K1, K4r, Roland: D-50, Fantom XR, A-33 , Oberheim: MC1000, MC2000 EX

Post by midi2 » Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:29 pm

What really does NI Vocator?I need something like guitar rig:You drive an audio signal to the input and you hear it processed in real time.I meant a vocoder that works like that

User avatar
elmosexwhistle
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:27 am
Real name: Alex
Band: Elmo Sexwhistle
Location: Birmingham
Contact:

...

Post by elmosexwhistle » Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:26 pm

yes...as i said...the cubase vocoder vsti and the akai vocoder vsti do that...you just have to assign a midi channel to the plugin and then monitor your audio track...x

User avatar
cbjlietuva
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:42 pm
Gear: Roland Juno 6 · Rhodes 73 Suitcase · Fender '63 jBass · Fender Strat+ · Casio SK1
Location: A Honda Civic down by the foothils

Post by cbjlietuva » Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:10 am

a good VST vocoder, and free too, is MDA's Vocoder, availible in a mass download with some other plugins from KVR audio: http://www.kvraudio.com/get/803.html

it's mono though- splits the stereo signal into the carrier and modulator signals which can be set in the prefs for the plugin.
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...Star Wars on Laserdisc

kv331audio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:14 pm

Post by kv331audio » Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:33 pm

You can also check out SynthMaster FREE:

http://www.kvraudio.com/news/6223.html

Post Reply