Any ReBirth users?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
MrFrodo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:29 pm
Real name: Eric
Location: New York, NY, USA
Contact:

Any ReBirth users?

Post by MrFrodo » Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:42 pm

Do any of you use Propellarhead ReBirth? If so, there's something I'd like to know. If i interfaced with Cubase, is it possible to control the individual 303, 808 and 909 simulations from external controllers?

ReBirth is no longer manufactured by Propellarhead, but you can freely download the software from an online museum. Is it worth it, if you don't just want to use the software on its own?
The greatest thing we ever have is the will to survive.

Rest in peace, Dr. Robert Moog.

http://www.ericbenjamingordon.com
http://cdbaby.com/cd/ebgordon
http://www.myspace.com/ericbenjamingordon

User avatar
23
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:19 am
Gear: TB-303, MC-505, MC-09, V-Synth GT, FR-777, FR-XS, MFB: Synth II, EMU Proteus 2500/CS, FS1R, Supernova II, Fusion 6HD, ER-1 MKII
Band: 23, A23P, Piss Ant
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Re: Any ReBirth users?

Post by 23 » Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:50 pm

MrFrodo wrote:Do any of you use Propellarhead ReBirth? If so, there's something I'd like to know. If i interfaced with Cubase, is it possible to control the individual 303, 808 and 909 simulations from external controllers?

ReBirth is no longer manufactured by Propellarhead, but you can freely download the software from an online museum. Is it worth it, if you don't just want to use the software on its own?
The answer to both your questions would be:
1. To a VERY large degree, but not completely
2. Yes (I haven't touched Rebirth in ages, but the mere fact that the 808 and 909 it contain are little more than samplers with 808 and 909 like control has been enough for me to keep it tucked away. Those two things can become absolutely deadly in regard to serving as customed sample based drum machines. The 303 emulations by no means bad at all......the biggest thing you lose from the original 303 is noise.)

User avatar
ewblank
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by ewblank » Thu Apr 05, 2007 7:12 pm

I wouldn't say I'm a regular user, but I've played around with it for fun and enjoyed the experience. I like the fact that it had build-in delay and distortion effects.

And you can't beat the price - free!

ew
Synths and gear I own: Juno-6, Moog Rouge, Yamaha FB-01, Boss DR-110 & TR-505, Casio SK-1, Yamaha AN200, Roland D2, Korg ER-1, various mini-kybds and home-made circuit bent thingies.

User avatar
ford442
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:43 am
Real name: Noah
Band: Noah Cohn
Location: Nevada City, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by ford442 » Thu Apr 05, 2007 7:52 pm

i've used RB since version 1.5.. like 1997.. and i have no plans to quit..! :-)

you can't trigger notes or drum hits.. but you can automate things.. probly even the pattern selection..
Image

User avatar
ford442
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:43 am
Real name: Noah
Band: Noah Cohn
Location: Nevada City, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by ford442 » Thu Apr 05, 2007 7:56 pm

oh and yes - it's worth every penny ;-) using it with Cubase only makes it better.. igives you ndividual output channels to add effects to RB..

i bought 2.0 before it came out for like $150.. again - worth every penny -= go download it today!!!
Image

User avatar
schlachthof
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:23 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by schlachthof » Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:32 pm

I also used it around 1997 but when Fruity loops came out I quit using it.
I think the grafikdesign is too small. But it was really cool when it came out.
Korg Wavestation Ex,MFB Synth2

User avatar
kyodai
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 6:29 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by kyodai » Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:41 pm

Can't you use reason to control Rebirth? I don't have either but a friend has reason and a seem to remember that you can attach rebirth to reason or somesuch.
Image

User avatar
23
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:19 am
Gear: TB-303, MC-505, MC-09, V-Synth GT, FR-777, FR-XS, MFB: Synth II, EMU Proteus 2500/CS, FS1R, Supernova II, Fusion 6HD, ER-1 MKII
Band: 23, A23P, Piss Ant
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Post by 23 » Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:03 pm

kyodai wrote:Can't you use reason to control Rebirth? I don't have either but a friend has reason and a seem to remember that you can attach rebirth to reason or somesuch.
The audio channels of Rebirth can simply be Rewired to Reason. Beyond that and Reason being able to serve as a master clock for Rebirth (via Rewire as well), no, Reason can not control Rebirth.

User avatar
Mr Rich
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:04 pm
Gear: Excessive.
Location: Ireland

Post by Mr Rich » Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:08 pm

This stuff goes in the Software Synthesizers forum.
Mr Rich
(Eventually tired of Clint.)

Post Reply