Using a laptop on stage?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Fredriktunn

Using a laptop on stage?

Post by Fredriktunn » Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:09 pm

Hey People.

I wanted to ask your opinion on using laptops on stage. I would like to to use my computer based software i.e Using what i have recorded on cubase and also using Korg Legacy, Arturia Minimoog.

But.... I am a novice in this field. So would i simply transfer the recorded stuff onto a laptop, arrange it and then somehow amplify it?

Then there is the issue of MIDI, do i have to sync my synth to the laptop? I want to amplify the stuff from the laptop, then maybe just play the leads or melody live over the recorded stuff, that would seem the best option.

So, if you have any suggestions for me, they would be welcomed :D

Kind Regards.

The Cancer Years

subject

Post by The Cancer Years » Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:10 am

I made everything into mp3's played them through the sound card and then used all external hardware for parts I played.

NOW I am using mp3's having reason open and playing the parts along with them.

I am not going the laptop route now though, I am building a rack computer out of a server and a monitor with a kayboard built in.

It's expensive but laptops are kinda buzzy with the sound.
Ensoniq esq1 x2 : Korg sg-1 : Korg Triton 61 : Emu ESI-32 : Alesis Multimix firewire 12 : Nord Lead 2x : Akai Ax80

http://weaeroplanes.blogspot.com

fuckrapsputin

Post by fuckrapsputin » Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:26 am

I use a laptop when playing live. basically i put all of my drums, some loops and stuff into ableton live and then use it in live mode or what ever as opposed to the normal sequencer. then i use a sampler to play other loops and use effects, i also use a kaoss pad and a mixer etc...

and as for laptops being buzzy i've found none of this. i use an Audiophile USB soundcard hooked into my mixer then all of it into the PA and its fine.