Software Groovebox?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
logicalhippo

Software Groovebox?

Post by logicalhippo » Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:46 pm

So for a long time I've been hesitant to use my computer as the center of my MIDI setup - and I guess it's because I haven't found a loop sequencer that's really easy to make quick ideas on. I've been using a qy70 for this for a few years, and I love it to death, but I feel like there should be a better way. Also going in with the mouse and deleting stray notes would be easier than doing things in hardware.

Can anyone think of a good solution to creating loop-based music on a computer? I have an intel mac. Logic can loop, but I don't know how to set it up so I can define separate loops (chorus, verse, etc) and then switch between them easily.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member

Post by Hugo76 » Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:32 pm

How about a tracker? There are many *very* good trackers out there, several which are free. Personally I use Buzztracker a lot. It can be somewhat confusing at first, and it is quite unstable, but the results are potentially top notch ;)

Also worth looking at is Renoise, allegedly Aron Funks weapon of choice (Aron Funk of Venetian Snares fame).

MitchK1989

Post by MitchK1989 » Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:29 pm

I'd try the demo of ableton live if I were you.

Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member

Post by Yoozer » Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:53 pm

I'd build one myself in Reaktor. No constant hassles with the interface "argh why did they put that knob THERE", presets are easy to create and manage and can be mixed and matched.

Or Ableton, yeah. It's got a mode for applications like this.
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.

polar69
Gear: An1x CS1x Rm1x MPD24 Stylophone Zoom gfx100 Reason Reaper

Post by polar69 » Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:50 am

I've been playing with this