The big change. Problems with many VST's in Vista?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

The big change. Problems with many VST's in Vista?

Post by Bitexion » Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:28 pm

I'm seriously considering switching to Windows Vista now that I'm upgrading all my hardware to top standards. I'm a gamer at heart, and want the DX10 possibilities. But I'm worried that many of my softsynths would stop working.

I found a long list of Vista compatible VST's on the Arturia forum, and people said the CS-80V 1.6 worked flawlessly. I'm just wondering, is it just a fake rumour that "no audio software would work in Vista"?
I have a pretty standard hi-end Creative soundcard so I have no worries with that.

It is said that all Native Instruments, gmedia, arturia and the other big companies work fine in Vista. I'm just checkin with you guys also :)

Wiglaf
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 4:06 am
Real name: Tyler
Gear: I don't even remember half of it
Band: width full
Location: Michigan, U.S...but not Detroit

Post by Wiglaf » Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:40 am

It might work fine for you. Good luck. Most of the problems are related to drivers, so if that's been mostly ironed out, you'll be fine.


But gaming performance still sucks in Vista. Hope you've got something with a nVidia and a 8800 somewhere on it...
"I thought all you did was push a button and sounds came out!" - Mom on synths
"Not quite, Mom." - Me on synths

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:44 am

I have not heard to many problems with VSTs and know plenty of ppl running various DAW programs on Vista. You can always partition and dual boot

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Post by Bitexion » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:41 pm

I guess a 3ghz intel dualcore + 2gb ram + nvidia 8800gt will do the trick :)
Told you I'm upgrading.

User avatar
Synthaholic
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:43 pm
Gear: Motif XS6, TX802, D-550, A6
Location: NH

Post by Synthaholic » Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:29 pm

Dual boot if you like, but if it were me I'd stick with XP. Vista gains you nothing but headaches. Give it a year or so for everyone to get caught up with compatibility/driver issues. And for M$ to release a service pack.

XP will fly with those hardware upgrades you're doing.
Two VCO: thanks to the push rods, one can choose several forms of waves at the same time!
(from a Babelfish translation of a Jupiter-6 site)

Yamaha: Motif XS6, TX802 Roland: D-550 Alesis: A6 Andromeda

Post Reply