DSP Card question

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
nytel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:08 am

DSP Card question

Post by nytel » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:16 am

I use 2 software synthesizers, Vanguard & Circle.
Intel Core2 2.4ghz
2 gigs ram

The system can pluuunty of channels in Ableton.

Universal Audio UAD2 Quad DSP Card
http://www.zzounds.com/item--UAD2QUAD

My soundcard is a USB Audiophile from Maudio. Old but sounds clean. That I'll updgrade to another Maudio soundcard which I'll do when I purchase a dsp card. but I'm curious how well will this boost the sound quality of these 2 soft synths?
I want my synths to sing like a crystal cavern.

Thanks for reading..

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: DSP Card question

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:58 am

The DSP card won't run those softsynths, but it will run plugins that you can use on the output of the softsynths.

If I were you I'd get a better card than an M-Audio, I've found in my experience that they're pretty much the bottom rung of the soundcard world. Check out the Echo Audiofire range instead, still cheap but sound a whole lot better.

User avatar
ehasting
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:35 pm

Re: DSP Card question

Post by ehasting » Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:00 pm

i agree.. if you want to invest in such dsp power card, you should add some more money on your sound card. to improve the D/A's

Echo is a good choice.. i use a tc konnekt, which i am very pleased with. There are many different out there, but check around.

GeneralBigbag
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 10:16 pm
Location: Grad school

Re: DSP Card question

Post by GeneralBigbag » Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:36 pm

May I suggest that Stab is right.
Either that or, if you only need DA and have either optical or spdif out, you could get a one of these: http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/50-7774
Which is really cheap, and surprisingly good.
virb.com/ookpikk

User avatar
scope4live
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV.

Re: DSP Card question

Post by scope4live » Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:47 am

Another option is a DSP card that already has awesome synths and zero latency.
Scope DSP cards have many great synths and it doesn't end there.
I really never understood why this company never advertised but once you use one of these the idea of buying a soundcard just to be able to have sound seems unnecessary.

www.soniccore.com
www.planetz.com
Jimmy V.

Scope DSP cards x 6
Lexicon PCM81/PCM91
Studio Electronics Synths
Creamware ASB B4000 w/ Pro3t Rotary

User avatar
crystalmsc
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2860
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:15 am
Gear: uWaveXT,uQ,Pulse+;Ion;MiniBrt,Karma,Mntrb,Volcas,01R;Venom,NordModular,L2X;Evolver;JP8080,MKS70,JD990,D50,MC909,MC80ex,Microcon2;TG77,RS7k,AN200,AN1x
Band: Crystaline
Location: Synth Garden
Contact:

Post by crystalmsc » Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:48 am

scope4live wrote:Scope DSP cards have many great synths
The Solaris for Scope looks interesting, would a 6 DSPs scope card run it well? Like how many parts/voices will it run? I saw that you also have the B-4000, how is it compared to the latest organ simulation that's included in the scope package?
Kaossilatron - Voicillator
http://crystaline.bandcamp.com
Station: Ableton Live 10 Suite, Obscurium, Push 2, Ultranova, MS-20m, Wavedrums

Post Reply