Page 1 of 1

DSP Card question

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:16 am
by nytel
I use 2 software synthesizers, Vanguard & Circle.
Intel Core2 2.4ghz
2 gigs ram

The system can pluuunty of channels in Ableton.

Universal Audio UAD2 Quad DSP Card
http://www.zzounds.com/item--UAD2QUAD

My soundcard is a USB Audiophile from Maudio. Old but sounds clean. That I'll updgrade to another Maudio soundcard which I'll do when I purchase a dsp card. but I'm curious how well will this boost the sound quality of these 2 soft synths?
I want my synths to sing like a crystal cavern.

Thanks for reading..

Re: DSP Card question

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:58 am
by Stab Frenzy
The DSP card won't run those softsynths, but it will run plugins that you can use on the output of the softsynths.

If I were you I'd get a better card than an M-Audio, I've found in my experience that they're pretty much the bottom rung of the soundcard world. Check out the Echo Audiofire range instead, still cheap but sound a whole lot better.

Re: DSP Card question

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:00 pm
by ehasting
i agree.. if you want to invest in such dsp power card, you should add some more money on your sound card. to improve the D/A's

Echo is a good choice.. i use a tc konnekt, which i am very pleased with. There are many different out there, but check around.

Re: DSP Card question

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:36 pm
by GeneralBigbag
May I suggest that Stab is right.
Either that or, if you only need DA and have either optical or spdif out, you could get a one of these: http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/50-7774
Which is really cheap, and surprisingly good.

Re: DSP Card question

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:47 am
by scope4live
Another option is a DSP card that already has awesome synths and zero latency.
Scope DSP cards have many great synths and it doesn't end there.
I really never understood why this company never advertised but once you use one of these the idea of buying a soundcard just to be able to have sound seems unnecessary.

www.soniccore.com
www.planetz.com

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:48 am
by crystalmsc
scope4live wrote:Scope DSP cards have many great synths
The Solaris for Scope looks interesting, would a 6 DSPs scope card run it well? Like how many parts/voices will it run? I saw that you also have the B-4000, how is it compared to the latest organ simulation that's included in the scope package?

Re: DSP Card question

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 1:58 pm
by weesch
creamware sharc dsp are the better in therm of latency ! compressor are really good for side chain better than protools hd ! i use samplitude pro X 3 with asio scope 5 (on win7X64 hacked by me) for midi an audio recording and protools hd for rtas plugins and rtad instrument
just see a demo here of my system contact me for advise

weesch 74 SONICCORE SCOPE 5 TO WIN7X64 FREE UPGRADE