soundflower usage question?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
User avatar
synapsecollapse
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:43 am
Gear: MS20 Mini, Eurorack stuffs, Elektron Machinedrum, Venom, iPad mini, DX7
Location: austin, texas
Contact:

soundflower usage question?

Post by synapsecollapse » Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:55 am

so i installed soundflower months ago and decided i wanted to use it today.

i set the audio input to soundflower 2 i/o in live and the instructions talk about planting soundflowerbed and i dont have any idea what they are talking about. can someone who has done this before be of some assistance? i remember stab frenzy recommended it to me earlier in the year, but i dont think this should be particularly tricky.

thanks!

daniel.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: soundflower usage question?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:07 am

Hmmm... I thought Soundflowerbed was just for mixing audio in soundflower and then outputting it through your audio card or something. I've never used it.

If I wanted to record audio out of Firefox for example, I'd go to system preferences and set Soundflower as the audio output, then go to Live and set Soundflower as the audio input. Open Firefox and all the audio from it should come up on the inputs of Live, but you still have to route the outs of Live to whatever interface you're using.

Make sense? Or are you trying to do something else with it?

User avatar
synapsecollapse
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:43 am
Gear: MS20 Mini, Eurorack stuffs, Elektron Machinedrum, Venom, iPad mini, DX7
Location: austin, texas
Contact:

Re: soundflower usage question?

Post by synapsecollapse » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:19 am

that makes sense, and i think its what i tried to do.

opened live, set preferences to 2 chan i/o, played sound (a movie out of netflick's streaming movie software) video via firefox and live received no audio signal. is there a step i am missing somewhere?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: soundflower usage question?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:55 am

Did you set the default sound output in system preferences to Soundflower?

User avatar
synapsecollapse
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:43 am
Gear: MS20 Mini, Eurorack stuffs, Elektron Machinedrum, Venom, iPad mini, DX7
Location: austin, texas
Contact:

Re: soundflower usage question?

Post by synapsecollapse » Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:02 am

no, only the input. do i need to set both of them? (trying right now)

drat, that didn't do anything either.

should both input and output be set to soundflower in the preference/audio menu in live?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: soundflower usage question?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:16 am

No you don't want Live's output to be Soundflower, you want Firefox's to be. The easiest way to do that is to close Firefox, going System Preferences / Sound / Output and changing it and then reopening Firefox. You might be able to change it without closing Firefox and reopening, but if that doesn't work then try it.

User avatar
octopede
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:01 pm
Gear: lots of cables, lights and knobs
Band: Dormir, Cities of Earth
Location: Denver, CO

Re: soundflower usage question?

Post by octopede » Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:53 pm

When I use Soundflower, I often find that it works best when I capture samples with Audacity, then save to file and import (rather than trying to capture right in the DAW...for some reason I have not the best luck with that). For what it's worth...
-----

Post Reply