everybody fruity looped

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
princefan3
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:27 pm

everybody fruity looped

Post by princefan3 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:31 pm

was wondering why we all dont just use fruity loops to create our music..it looks like
it covers every type of music...

is it hard to use..?

am thinking of getting a copy.

User avatar
Clavier
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 547
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 7:22 am
Gear: A distraction.
Band: Rhode Out West
Location: California

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Clavier » Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:32 pm

princefan3 wrote: is it hard to use..?
No, it's stupid to use.
Hammond RT-2, Hammond M3, Hammond L-102, Rhodes mk1 suitcase 88, Sequential Circuits Prophet-5, Yamaha TX-802, Fender Twin Reverb, Leslie 45

User avatar
Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:31 pm

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Yoozer » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:03 pm

princefan3 wrote:was wondering why we all dont just use fruity loops to create our music..
Some of us have over 5 years invested in another sequencer.

Some of us dislike its workflow and pattern-based songwriting.

Some of us have hardware that works best with another sequencer.

Some of us have Macs.
it looks like
it covers every type of music...
How does a sequencer not do that?

You know what the TB-303 was supposed to do originally, right? Genre has absolutely nothing to do with it.
is it hard to use..?

am thinking of getting a copy.
Why do you even ask this when they've got a demo on the site to download and try?

Why not just, I don't know, do that instead of asking? :)
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.

User avatar
griffin avid
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1568
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by griffin avid » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:22 am

Maybe some artists just can't bring themselves to use a program called Fruity Loops.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com

User avatar
hyphen nation
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:43 am
Gear: boxes that make noises
Location: sunny northwest

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by hyphen nation » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:51 am

wow, just nuked my response, as I realized it was the effing dead horse of doom topic of soft vs hardware

carry on with this fruity business, I have nothing to contribute...
Last edited by hyphen nation on Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mush
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:06 pm
Gear: I have all the gear I need.
Band: Mush Orchestra / Rasmus Nyåker
Location: Copenhagen Noise Lab, Denmark
Contact:

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Mush » Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:13 am

I bought fruity-loops for my netbook - an acer aspire one, just to have a sketchbook for ideas with me wherever I am. And I made a few beats with it as well as melodies, but I usually transfer it to the machinedrum or logic when I get back into the studio as I hate working out more than sketches of stuff in the FL-software-environment.

Still a nice little app, but in your shoes I would check out Reaper (a few in here swears by it) or sometthing similar.

Cheers

/Rasmus

User avatar
stephen
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:04 pm
Gear: Laptop
House Brick
Renoise
Loomer Aspect
FM8
Location: UK

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by stephen » Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:27 pm

Then there's the open source version - lmms.

http://lmms.sourceforge.net/

Available for linux and windows. It's at an early stage of development, but worth having a play. The linux version can support windows VSTs if you get the source code and compile it with the VST option.
Stephen(2)

Acid Mitch
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 6:24 pm

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Acid Mitch » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:43 pm

I really like Fruity Loops, although I rarely use it any more.
It was what got me into making music on a PC(started on v2) but these days I only use it as a scetch pad for when I'm not in the studio. For some stuff it's great. I used to write all my stuff on it.
I found it doesn't handle external synths too well which is what stopped me using it so much.
If you want an easy to use pattern based sequencer for softsynths and samples it's hard to beat.

User avatar
CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:47 pm
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by CS_TBL » Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:15 pm

"You know I love you, CS, but this is bullshit." (Automatic Gainsay)
s: VSL/FM8/EWQL/LASS h: DX7/FS1r/VL70/SY77/SN2r/JD800/JD990/XV88/Emu6400/Poly61/Amek35:12:2/genelec1030 r: Violin/AltoSax/TinWhistle c: i7-4770/RAM32GB/SSD
FM8 vids

User avatar
diezdiazgiant
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:32 am
Gear: a computer and some odd bits of junk and microphones
Band: jizzflap f**k
Location: Chicago

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by diezdiazgiant » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:36 pm

choke on a d**k. seriously.
Image
blunted daydreaming

electro funker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:33 pm

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by electro funker » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:27 pm

Acid Mitch wrote: If you want an easy to use pattern based sequencer for softsynths and samples it's hard to beat.
Ever tried Ableton live 7 out..? I worked with fruity loops for a while, but it really sucks compared to Ableton. When you export things they sound so different from what you originally composed and recorded. Yeah, I admit it is easy, but that's not making it a good sequencer or producer software ... :wink:

User avatar
Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:31 pm

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Yoozer » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:55 pm

electro funker wrote:
Acid Mitch wrote: If you want an easy to use pattern based sequencer for softsynths and samples it's hard to beat.
Ever tried Ableton live 7 out..?
Not pattern based.
When you export things they sound so different from what you originally composed and recorded.
It may just be an issue of volume; try recording from FL to wave (using a wave-editor) and then compare it (by inverting) with the exported version. You may find less of a difference than you think.
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.

electro funker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:33 pm

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by electro funker » Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:45 pm

Hmm, maybe, what makes a pattern? When you press the play all midi clips in the live mode, i would say that the play all clip button, is a making pattern, but that dosent mean a thing. I heard some talking about a compressor that's allways on in FL, but maybe it's just me. And maybe it's just a matter of taste and workflow, but my opinion is still that ableton is a lot more inutuative than FL studio, and it's a way better piece of software! :) Maybe it's because I have spend all that money for my copy of ableton... :?

User avatar
Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:31 pm

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Yoozer » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:17 pm

electro funker wrote:Hmm, maybe, what makes a pattern?
Yes, clips, in that sense, are patterns. It's how you program them that IMHO makes the difference.

With a TR-909 (or alike sequencer) I hit Play. If I want to program a kick drum pattern, I can hit the first button - and when the sequencer loops over this step, it'll trigger the kick. What makes it so much of a pattern is that when it has hit the first step I can program the rest of the kicks in advance without having to wait for the sequencer to actually get there. With Ableton, this only works when I copy and paste an entire block of MIDI or audio data in the spot, but not a separate step.

Yes, it's possible to use the pencil tool and grid to switch the instrument on/off and use a control lane to draw in the pitch, but it's not the same, and more sensitive to faults.
I heard some talking about a compressor that's allways on in FL
I think they've put a mastering comp in every new project by default. While this'll help most newbies to make things "loud and fat"*, it's a really bad habit. Reason does this, too.

*distorted and c**p
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.

User avatar
Cam VanDerHorst
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:18 pm
Gear: Roland JV-80, Reason 4, Moog Little Phatty Stage II, KORG DS-10
Location: Northeast Ohio
Contact:

Re: everybody fruity looped

Post by Cam VanDerHorst » Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:21 am

Buy Reason and be done with it already.
Roland JV-80, Reason 4, Moog Little Phatty Stage II #SE04074, KORG DS-10
http://metarract.blogspot.com/
You've caught me at a bad bad time, so why don't you piss off.

Post Reply